E-TextsReference Sources
Archival ResearchDissertationsForeign NewspapersGrants and FellowshipsLiterary TheoryMLA StyleThe Academic Job Search
Course Guide Archive 
Checking out, Renewing, Recalling Books Computing in the library Connecting from off-campus Find an article online Find Films and DVD's How do I find Book Reviews? How do I find current fiction? Who is the Librarian for...? 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

German Language and Literature 

Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the German language and literature.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/german  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books             Print Page
  
 

Books on D Level

The main German Language and Literature collections are found on D-level at MSEL under the following call numbers:

  • PM (Compact shelving): Books on German language and literature, cataloged before 7/96.
  • PF 1-5999 (Blue Label Section): Books on German language cataloged after 7/96.
  • PT 1-4897 (Blue Label Section): Books on German literature cataloged after 7/96.
 

Find ALL the Books

Guide to locating secondary literature in German Studies: details resources (both online and in print) for finding critical studies on all periods of German literature.

Use a printed bibliography.
Do a Basic Subject search in the catalog on an author's last name and the word "bibliography", to locate them in the library.

Look in the NUC- pre 1956 Imprints on B-Level.
Call Number Z 881.A1C28 QUARTO (South End)

Many reference sources include bibliographies of individual authors,
movements, subjects.

Use the resources right under your nose.
Bibliographies and footnotes in books and articles you have already found are your best source of further reading.

 

Search the JHU Libraries Catalog

Find books, movies, and more in the libraries by searching below:

Find Books in Other libraries

 

Find Old Books

Old Books


Can't find it in WorldCat?

Try the KVK Katalog: an enormous online international database


And the following may help identify older material, verify or correct a citation, and locate obscure material. For more complete resources see: the Guide to Primary Literature.

 

 

 

  • The NUC Catalogue indexes books printed before 1956. Includes books printed in Europe and Latin America.
    B Level (North end) Z881.A1C28 QUARTO
  • The British Library (Museum) Catalogue indexes books before 1955. Also available online
    General Reference on M Level Z921.B86 1959 QUARTO
  • Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schriftums 1911-1965 General Reference Z 2221 .G48
    Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schriftums (GV): 1700-1910 D-Level Stacks Z 2221 .G46
    Similar to the NUC Catalogue, but for German books.
 

Librarian

Profile ImageSue Waterman
Contact Info:
Office: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email

Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars

 

Online Texts

  • Google Books now has the complete page images from thousands of books, most of them "old". Use the Advanced Search for more precision. Try searching on a phrase from the book you're looking for. Or keywords that will easily identify it.
  • Many texts are online in various e-text archives, like Zeno.org
  • E-texts in German a page of many links
 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait