E-TextsReference Sources
Archival ResearchDissertationsForeign NewspapersGrants and FellowshipsLiterary TheoryMLA StyleThe Academic Job Search
Course Guide Archive 
Checking out, Renewing, Recalling Books Computing in the library Connecting from off-campus Find an article online Find Films and DVD's How do I find Book Reviews? How do I find current fiction? Who is the Librarian for...? 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

German Language and Literature 

Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the German language and literature.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/german  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Indexes in Print

For a complete listing of indexes, see Guide to Secondary Literature.

While online databases are wonderful for finding more recent articles, most older material, and much of the specialized material from European journals, will be only indexed in print indexes.



Quellenlexikon zur deutschen Literaturgeschichte.
34-volume set that lists writers alphabetically; with references to secondary literature. Some are quite extensive. An essential tool.
General Reference :            PT 85 .Z99 S353

Germanistik. internationales Referatenorgan mit bibliographischen Hinweisen.
Quarterly index of books, articles and dissertations, organized by chronological time period. Books usually have a short review. Annual name and subject indexes.
D level:               Z 2235 .A2 G4  1990-present
Libraries Service Center:      Z 2235 .A2 G4  1975-1989
Libraries Service Center:      PK 3 .G47      1960-1974

Deutsches Literatur Lexikon (DLL). W. Kosch.
22-volumes, with a 6-volume supplement. Similar to the Quellenlexikon (above). Includes, in addition to writers, Germanisten, philosophers, theologians. Articles include short biography, primary literature, and secondary literature. Also information on archives and literary institutions. Very complete, up to its publication date, and includes many older citations that don't show up elsewhere.
D Level:              Z 2231 .K663 1968

The year's work in modern language studies.
Very useful introduction to recent secondary literature.
General Reference: Current edition PB 1 .Y45
D Level 1975-2002: Blue Labels PB 1 .Y45
Libraries Service Center
1929-1974: PD 1 .Y39

 

Online Indexes

Search these together, or individually. The MLA and the BDSL are the best databases for German.

More Online Indexes

Search these together, or individually.

 

Librarian

Profile ImageSue Waterman
Contact Info:
Office: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email

Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars

 

Research Guides

 

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait