E-TextsReference Sources
Archival ResearchDissertationsForeign NewspapersGrants and FellowshipsLiterary TheoryMLA StyleThe Academic Job Search
Course Guide Archive 
Checking out, Renewing, Recalling Books Computing in the library Connecting from off-campus Find an article online Find Films and DVD's How do I find Book Reviews? How do I find current fiction? Who is the Librarian for...? 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

German Language and Literature 

Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the German language and literature.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/german  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Archival Research             Print Page
  
 

Tips for Research

Finding archive catalogs or guides in the Libraries Catalog: do a Basic Keyword Search on Subject keywords such as archives, guide, archives nationales, france, manuscripts, catalogs, handbooks. Another good subject keyword is Sources. This gets you primary literature. There are many indexes and guides to individual archives, or archives in specific subjects areas, such as music, history, literature, etc.

Use one of the databases below to search across thousands of collections worldwide.

 

Web Sites

Deutschen Literaturarchivs Marbach: holdings are among the most important in literature and of the history of ideas worldwide. The collections document German language literature and culture from 1750 to the present. Core holdings consist of archives and papers of literary figures, scholars, and publishing houses, which is supplemented by Germany's largest research collection in literature.

Akademie der Künste : literary archives of many German writers, including
Walter Benjamin, Bertolt Brecht, Gü
nter Grass, Alfred Döblin, Christa Wolf, Heiner Müller, and many more

Goethe-und Schiller- Archiv : includes many other writers

Kalliope : union catalog for archival resources, providing access to the holdings of a large number of museums, archives, and libraries. Over 1.2 million entries and over 500 institutional members, the primary resource for German archival materials.

Deutsche Archive im Internet : a comprehensive site of catalogs, arranged by subject.

Libraries and Archives: Germany from the Library of Congress

 

 

Librarian

Profile ImageSue Waterman
Contact Info:
Office: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email

Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars

Research Aids

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait