E-TextsReference Sources
Archival ResearchDissertationsForeign NewspapersGrants and FellowshipsLiterary TheoryMLA StyleThe Academic Job Search
Course Guide Archive 
Checking out, Renewing, Recalling Books Computing in the library Connecting from off-campus Find an article online Find Films and DVD's How do I find Book Reviews? How do I find current fiction? Who is the Librarian for...? 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

German Language and Literature 

Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the German language and literature.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/german  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Sources             Print Page
  
 

Encyclopedias

  • Brockhaus Enzklopaedie. AE27.B88 1966
  • Meyers Konversationslexikon. All 16 volumes of the 1888 edition are online, with page images. Search feature is being developed.
  • Zedler Universal Lexikon. Also in print in General Reference AE27.G7 1732
  • Grosses Duden Lexikon. AG27.G7 1964
  • Deutsche biographische Enzyklopädie CT 759 .D481 1995
  • Europaische Enzyklopaedie zu Philosophie und Wissenschaften. AE27.
     E85 1990
  • Resource Guide to historic Encyclopedias at JHU libraries
 

Literary Guides

"Encyclopedias" of German literature, in General Reference on M-Level

  • The Oxford companion to German literature PT 41 .G3 1997
  • Walther Killy Literatur Lexikon PT 41 .L5 1988
  • Quellenlexikon zür deutschen Literaturgeschichte PT 85 .Z99
  • The Cambridge history of German literature PT 91 .C36 1997
  • Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschgesprachingen Gegenswartliteratur (KLG) : an important bibliography of contemporary German literature. The print volumes, which include critical information. PT 155.K75 1978.
  • A Companion to 20th century German literature PT 401 .C65 1997
  • An encyclopedia of German women writers 1900-1933 PT 1141 .E495
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
 
 

Dictionaries

Dictionaries are available for use in the library (General Reference) and to check out (stacks on D Level).

You can locate dictionaries in the online catalog by doing an Alphabetical search on Subjects. Type "german language--dictionaries--english" as your search. Or just "german language--dictionaries" for strictly German dictionaries.

German dictionaries: a guide to historic dictionaries and other language tools in the JHU libraries

Book cover art

 

Librarian

Profile ImageSue Waterman
Contact Info:
Office: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email

Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars

 

Bibliography

  • Verzeichnis Lieferbarer Bücher (books in print)

  • Primary literature: a guide to tools that identify editions, locate obscure works, inventory German publications

  • Grundriss zur Geschichte der deutschen Dichtung aus den Quellen.
    ("Goedeke") Essential tool. Lists primary and secondary sources (including articles) on German authors. D level Blue Labels PT 85 .G7

  • GV: Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums
    1911-1965 essential tool for locating older books. Z 2221 .G48
    GV: 1700-1910 on D level in the Stacks Z 2221 .G46
 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait