Indexes for Newspapers

- Lexis-Nexis About the only database that indexes foreign newspapers. It does NOT provide much historical coverage. Link to the RIGHT.
- A few newspapers have been indexed individually. Le Monde (Call number: AI 21.M5) for example. These are rare, but you can try a Title Keyword search on the title of the newspaper to locate them. Try the Hopkins Libraries Catalog and WorldCat.
- Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences Gathers many indexes in one place. Sort by country or time period.
- There may be an index on the Web for a specific newspaper. Try a Google search on the title and the word “index”. This usually works for smaller papers that have ceased publication.
Access to Newspapers
The basic situation:
- for recent articles, a newspaper’s Web site is the best place to look
- for historical content (articles from past years, going into the 19th century), microfilm is often the only option. See below for locating microfilm
- there is very little content online other than very recent articles. A few individual newspapers’ archives have been digitized and put on the Web.
-
Indexes and includes many foreign newspapers.
- Most
of the newspapers that MSEL receives in print are not retained after 60
days. Some are received as microfilm. We have the following major newspapers on microfilm:
- Le Monde (France : 1944- )
- Frankfurter Allgemeine (Germany : 1949- )
- Corriere della Sera (Italy : 1945- )
- To find any individual title in the Hopkins Libraries, do an Alphabetical search in the Catalog on Journal/Newspaper Title.
- If we
do not own the newspaper you’re looking for, check the database
Search for the title of the newspaper as a Serial You can usually order a roll of microfilm from another library through InterLibrary Services.
- To identify newspapers that are available in microfilm (from UMI), see Newspapers in microform
- The Library of Congress has a large collection of newspapers on microfilm.
- The Center for Research Libraries also lists its foreign newspapers. Useful for access, once you’ve identified a title
- Most current newspapers have a Web site. Try Selected Western European News and Newspapers for current and historical content.
- A Google search will easily find others. Keep in mind though:
- Access to archives (older articles) often involves a fee.
- The Web site may or may not have a search engine for older articles.
- The search engine may not go back more than a few years. So for older material, try some of the resources listed above. You may want to also consult a Librarian.
Librarian |
Sue WatermanContact Info:
Office: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email
Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars
Office: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email
Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars
Identifying Newspapers
- Ulrich's
International Periodicals Directory lists periodicals by country in Volume
Two, under "General Interest Periodicals". Also shows where each might be indexed.
- Europa Yearbook: for each country. Principal Daily Newspapers
are listed by city.
- Foreign Newspapers,
held by the The Center for Research Libraries.
Part II is a Geographical List,
by country. Browse by
country to find newspapers from a particular time period.
- Newspapers
in Microform: Foreign Countries. Also
good for browsing by country.
- You can locate histories of the periodical press in a country, and bibliographies of newspapers, which will help you identify titles from a particular time period. Do a Subject Keyword search on "bibliography" and the country name and the word press or newspapers or periodicals. Ex: french press bibliography, or, french newspapers bibliography.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait