E-TextsReference Sources
Archival ResearchDissertationsForeign NewspapersGrants and FellowshipsLiterary TheoryMLA StyleThe Academic Job Search
Course Guide Archive Dante's Divine ComedyLiterature, Philosophy, and Christianity: Gianfrancesco Pico della Mirandola
Checking out, Renewing, Recalling Books Computing in the library Connecting from off-campus Find an article online Find Films and DVD's How do I find Book Reviews? How do I find current fiction? Who is the Librarian for...? 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

Italian Language and Literature 

Resources, in all formats, for the study of Italian literature and language
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/italian  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles            Print Page
  
 

Indexes in Print

For a complete listing of indexes, see Guide to Secondary Literature.

While online databases are wonderful for finding more recent articles, most older material, and much of the specialized material from European journals, will be only indexed in print indexes.


LIAB: Letteratura italiana, aggiornamento bibliografico.

Covers materials published 1991-present but including all time periods of Italian literature, including books, articles, and reviews. Organized by time period, with several indexes, A necessary complement to the databases. General Reference: Z 2354 .C8 L474

BiGLI: Bibliografia generale della lingua e della letteratura italiana.

Articles and book studies in Italian literature. Fills in the gaps of the MLA, which is heavily slanted toward English-language sources. A bit difficult to use, and always years behind in publication, but an essential tool for Italian literary studies.
General Reference: PC 1073 .B53

Letteratura italiana.

A very important, large set on Italian literature, in 8 parts: I maggiori (2 vol.), I minori (4 vol.), Le corrente (2 vol.), I contemporanei (6 vol.), I critici (5 vol.), Novecento (10 vol.), Novecent le avantguardie lettarie (3 vol.). Individual articles on writers, with a Bibliografia at the end of each. Many lesser-known writers are included, as well as the big names. Volume 5 is particularly useful: it is a Repertorio biliografico of writers not included in the set. Obscure writers not found elsewhere, as well as good background and bibliographies on major writers and movements.
D Level:  PG 1003 .L4

The year's work in modern language studies.
Very useful introduction to recent secondary literature.
General Reference: Current edition PB 1 .Y45
D Level 1975-2002: Blue Labels PB 1 .Y45
Libraries Service Center
1929-1974: PD 1 .Y39

 

Online Indexes

Search these together, or individually.

More Online Indexes

Search these together, or individually.

 
 

Research Guides

 

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait