Guides (books)

Photo: ElBloggers (Flickr)
- Guida generale degli archivi di Stato italiani (4 vol.)
Call Number: B Level Stacks CD 1424.G841 1981 - Le fonti archivistiche : catalogo delle guide e degli inventari editi (1861-1991)
Call Number: B Level Stacks CD 1402.A2 F65 - Guida alla ricerca d'archivio
Call Number: B Level Stacks CD 1655 .R6 F7 1992 - Inventory of Western manuscripts in the Biblioteca Ambrosiana
Call Number: B Level Stacks BR 45.N9 no.22 - I codici Petrarcheschi della Biblioteca Vaticana
Call Number: B Level Stacks AS 221 .V34 no.20
Tips for Research
Finding archive catalogs or guides in the Libraries Catalog: do a Basic Keyword Search on Subject keywords such as archives, guide, archivi, italy, manuscripts, catalogs, handbooks. Another good subject keyword is Sources. This gets you primary literature. There are many indexes and guides to individual archives, or archives in specific subjects areas, such as music, history, literature, etc.
Use one of the databases below to search across thousands of collections worldwide.
Web Sites
ARCHIVI : information on the state archives of Italy
Medici Archives : access to the historical data in the Medici Granducal Archive by way of a fully searchable on-line database
Archive in Italien : a comprehensive site of catalogs
Libraries and Archives: Italy from the Library of Congress
Research Aids
- Using archives: a practical guide From Canada, but still a lot of good information
- Using archives and manuscripts: a tutorial
- Archive Etiquette
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait