Background and Reference
- The Dante Encyclopedia. General Reference: PQ 4333 .D36 2000
- Enciclopedia dantesca, 6 volumes: D level Stacks PG 1333 .E5 1970 Quarto
- The Cambridge Companion to Dante. D Level: PQ 4335 .C36 2007
- Dictionary of the Middle Ages, with a good article on "Dante". General Reference D 114 .D51 1982 QUARTO
- Companion to the Divine Comedy. Charles Grandgent. D Level: PG 1464 .G7 1975
- Concordanza della Commedia di Dante Alighieri, 3 volumes. D Level: PG 1464 .L67 1975
- A dictionary of proper names and notable matters in the works of Dante. by Paget Toynbee: D Level PG 1333 .T68 1968
Web Sites
- Dartmouth Dante Project (DDP): a searchable database of the Commedia and over 70 commentaries.
- Princeton Dante Project (PDP): text of the Commedia, a translation, audio reading, texts of minor works, links to historical and literary material, images, ...
- The World of Dante: from the University of Virginia. Searchable hypertext of the Commedia, plus images
- Dante Studies: a rich Web site. Use the various drop-down menus to navigate.
- Digital Dante: from Columbia University, another multi-media Web site.
- The ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies. Lots of resources on the Middle Ages. Good page of Dante links.
Search the JHU Libraries Catalog
Find books on Dante and his writings in the libraries by searching below.
Try these Subjects - Library of Congress:
Dante Alighieri, 1265-1321. Divina commedia
Italy--History--1268-1492
Florence (Italy)--History--To 1421
Italy--Civilization--1268-1559
Medieval Philosophy
Civilization, Medieval
Be sure to explore the other Subject Headings that show up on the screen around these searches.
You can use any of the above words, and any other words or names that describe your project, in a Keyword Search as well. For best results, do a Subject Keyword search, or a Title Keyword search.

Find ALL the Books on a subject
Search one of the world's largest databases, for books from all over the country. Order what we don't have here from Interlibrary Services.
Search the Core Resources for Articles
Find articles, book chapters, books, and other research documents by searching below.
Go to Online Resources to see all the online resources in Italian.
Search across the marked databases in the search box below, or, for more accurate results, search each individually by clicking on its link.

Research Help

Contact the Librarian for Italian Literature
Sue Waterman
waterman@jhu.edu
410-516-5212
Keep track of your research
Get in the habit of using RefWorks to organize and store your citations.
Ask the Librarian for Italian to show you how.
Or take a look at this guide.
Rare Books
Resource Guide to special materials in the Rare Books and Manuscripts Department.
Research Rewards
There are many opportunities to receive recognition of the work you do or win fellowships for original research as an undergraduate. Check out these sites:
The Literary Encyclopedia Undergraduate Essay Prize
American Association of Teachers of Italian: College essay contest
Woodrow Wilson Undergraduate Research Fellowship
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait