E-TextsReference Sources
Archival ResearchDissertationsForeign NewspapersGrants and FellowshipsLiterary TheoryMLA StyleThe Academic Job Search
Course Guide Archive Introduction to Latino Culture in the U.S. Theater and Ideology in the Spanish Golden Age 
Checking out, Renewing, Recalling Books Computing in the library Connecting from off-campus Find an article online Find Films and DVD's How do I find Book Reviews? How do I find current fiction? Who is the Librarian for...? 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

Spanish Language and Literature 

Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the Spanish language and literature, including Latin American.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/spanish  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Sources             Print Page
  
 

Encyclopedias


 

Literary Guides

"Encyclopedias" of Spanish literature, in General Reference on M-Level

  • Manual de literatura española.
    Multi-volume history (or manual) of Spanish literature, with extensive "Bibliografía citada" at the end of each section. Detailed information on authors and literary movements. Use the detailed "Contenido" at the back of each
    volume for orientation. D Level Blue Labels: PQ 6032 .P4
  • Diccionario de literatura espanola e hispanoamericano. General reference : PQ 6006. D55 1993.
  • Handbook of Latin American literature. General reference : PQ 7081 .A1 H36 1992.
  • Dictionary of the literature of the Iberian peninsula. General reference : PN849.S6 D54 1993.
  • Diccionario de terminos literarios. General reference : PN44.5.E83 1996.
  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory. General reference : PN 81 .E43 1993
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
 
 

Dictionaries

Dictionaries are available for use in the library (General Reference) and to check out (stacks on D Level).

You can locate dictionaries in the online catalog by doing an Alphabetical search on Subjects. Type "spanish language--dictionaries--english" as your search. Or just "spanish language--dictionaries" for strictly Spanish dictionaries.

Spanish dictionaries: a guide to historic dictionaries and other language tools in the JHU libraries

 

 

Bibliography

Books in print, articles on Spanish literature, books on Spanish publishing, bibliographies

  • Catálogo colectivo del patrimonio bibliográfico español
    A union catalog of Spanish material printed between the 15th and 20th centuries, including holding information in approximately 500 libraries.
  • Manual del librero hispano-americano; bibliografía general española e hispano-americana desde la invención de la imprenta hasta nuestros tiempos, con el valor comercial de los impresos. A. Palau y Dulcet. 28 volumes, with a 7-volume index. Alphabetical by author's name. Complete bibliographical information on 381,897 Spanish books from 1450 to 1950.
    General Reference:  Z 2681 .P16 1948 Quarto

  • Bibliografia de la literatura hispanica. General Reference: Z 2691.S5 1960.
  • Libros editados en España desde 1972 : an online search for Spanish
    books.

 

Librarian

Profile ImageSue Waterman
Contact Info:
Office: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email

Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait