Fee Schedule + Forms + Policies
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

Rare Books + Manuscripts 

Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/rarebooks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

University Archives             Print Page
  
 

University Archives

The Ferdinand Hamburger Archives is the official archival repository for the Homewood Campus divisions of The Johns Hopkins University: Central University Administration, Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, G.W.C. Whiting School of Engineering, Carey Business School, and the School of Education. It is also the repository for the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, based in Washington, DC.  For information on transferring records to the archives, click here.

The Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions maintain their own archival repository, as does the Peabody Institute. These repositories are located on their respective campuses. For more information, see Alan Mason Chesney Medical Archives and the Peabody Institute Archives.

 

JHU Presidents' Papers

The records of the first president, Daniel Coit Gilman, are combined into one manuscript collection with his personal papers.  Ira Remsen, Frank Goodnow, Joseph Ames and Isaiah Bowman have presidential records in the Archives in addition to their manuscript collections. Later presidents (Detlev Wulf Bronk, Lowell Jacob Reed, Milton Stover Eisenhower, Lincoln Gordon, Steven Muller, William Chase Richardson, Daniel Nathans, and William R. Brody) are also documented in the Archives.

Records dating from 1901 to 1963 (encompassing the administrations of Remsen, Goodnow, Ames, Bowman, Bronk, Reed, and part of Eisenhower's) are filed together in series one of the Records of the Office of the President. The remainder of Eisenhower's records, along with those of Lincoln Gordon and Steven Muller, are spread over four series.  Records pertaining to Richardson, Nathans and Brody are not yet processed and are unavailable for research. All administrative records in the Archives created within the past twenty-five years are restricted and require special approval before they may be viewed.

 

JHU Finding Aids

Use this box to search all the archival and manuscripts collections in Special Collections. To browse a list of record groups, click here.

 

Useful Links

 

Contacts

Peabody Library

Rare Books

University Archives

Manuscripts

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait