Overview
The University Collections comprise the art and cultural artifacts in three collections: the Evergreen Museum and Library, the Homewood Museum, and the collections of the Johns Hopkins University's Homewood schools. The materials in all three collections are indexed in one database with information on the artist or maker, the type of object, and the date of creation. Follow the link at right to search the database. For questions, or further information, please contact Jackie O'Regan.
Campus Collections
The Johns Hopkins University's Campus Collections comprise objects and architectural interiors which are deemed to have lasting cultural value to the university, and are located in buildings of the Homewood schools.
The collection has grown through commission, purchase, loan, and gift to include a wide variety of objects, ranging from portraits honoring important university individuals; memorabilia including the Hopkins family silver and the piano of a former university president; and objects that enhance the university environment, including paintings, decorative arts, and outdoor sculpture such as those in the Bufano Sculpture Garden, shown at left.
The collections also include historic objects used throughout the university’s buildings, including clocks, tables, and doors. The objects are made available to faculty and students for the study of art and material culture.
Homewood Museum
Homewood was built as a country house in 1801, for Charles Carroll Jr., and his bride, Harriet Chew. Owned by the University since 1902, this National Historic Landmark is among the best surviving examples of domestic architecture of the Federal Period.
The house has been widely-copied, most immediately by the campus architecture to which it also lends its name - the Homewood campus of the Johns Hopkins University. Once used as the faculty club, graduate student housing, and later as administrative offices, the University restored and opened Homewood as a museum in 1987.
Homewood is furnished as it would have been during the Carrolls' occupancy in the first decades of the nineteenth century. Its elegant architectural details, interior spaces, and brightly colored rooms are filled with objects of the period, including many superb examples of Baltimore furniture, a number of Carroll family objects, and highlights from many local museum and private collections. Silver, cut glass, ceramics add to the glittering effect.
Evergreen Museum + Library
Evergreen Museum and Library is at once a prestigious collection of fine and decorative arts, rare books and manuscripts assembled by two generations of the philanthropic Garrett family, and a vibrant, inspirational venue for contemporary artists. Housed in a stunning 19th-century Italianate mansion on 26 landscaped and wooded acres, Evergreen provides an unusual backdrop for the viewing of art.
Evergreen Museum and Library's preeminent collection reflects the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth century tastes and varied collecting interests of the Garrett family, who called Evergreen home from 1878 to 1952. The 48 opulent rooms contain over 50,000 of their belongings, including works by Picasso, Degas, Dufy, Covarrubias and Modigliani, Tiffany glass, Chinese porcelain, Japanese laquerware, the John Work Garrett Library, and stage sets by Ballet Russes designer Leon Bakst.
Members of the public are welcome to experience Evergreen's collections and special exhibitions, as well as to enjoy its tours, lectures, and other programs.
Useful Links
- University Collections Database Search for art, artifacts, and photographs.
- Rare Books and Manuscripts Home Page
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait