At Enoch Pratt
- Enoch Pratt Free Library Enoch Pratt has extensive holdings of Maryland newspapers on microfilm. Choose one of the following links to see complete list with holdings information.
- Maryland Newspapers by Title
- Maryland Newspapers by County
- Baltimore City Newspapers
MD Newspaper Project
- Guide to Maryland Newspapers Hosted by the Maryland State Archives, the Guide to Maryland Newspapers is an excellent source for finding the print history of Maryland newspapers. You can view lists by title or county.
- Maryland State Archives 350 Rowe Boulevard
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: (800) 235-4045 or 410-260-6400
Fax: 410-974-3895
archives@mdarchives.state.md.us
News Photographs
- Baltimore News American Photograph Collection The University of Maryland Libraries has custody of the newspaper's collection of over 1.5 million photographic images, dating roughly from 1906 to 1986.
Baltimore Sun
Founded by 1837 by Arunah Shepherdson Abell in 1837, the Sun remains Baltimore's newspaper of record. The most complete index to the Sun is held in the Maryland Department at the Enoch Pratt Free Library.
For a history of the Sun, see Harold A. Williams. 1987. The Baltimore Sun, 1837-1987. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press. Eisenhower Stacks P6899 .B3 S93 1987
- Historic Baltimore Sun Microfilm of the Sun from 1837 to 2001.
Baltimore Afro-American
Founded in 1892 by John Henry Murphy, the Baltimore Afro-American is the flagship of the Afro-American newspaper chain. Read more about the Baltimore Afro-American.
- In Print at MSEL Last 60 days. Paper version in M-Level Eisenhower Current Periodicals.
- Online via Ethnic NewsWatch 1992-
Includes the searchable, full-text of the Baltimore Afro-American and the Baltimore Jewish Times. - Microfilm: 1893-2008 LSC Film no. A .A258
Request film at the Eisenhower Audio Visual Center on A-Level or via online request form. - Print Index at the Enoch Pratt Free Library The Maryland Department of the Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore has a print index to the Baltimore Afro-American for 1987-1992.
Baltimore Jewish Times
Founded by David Alter in 1919, the Baltimore Jewish Times is Baltimore's oldest Jewish publication. Also available from 1991-present via
Baltimore Business Journal
The Baltimore Business Journal, published since 1983, documents developments in Baltimore's business community. Past years are available in both print and microfilm.
Get Help |
Ask a LibrarianMore Baltimore Newspapers
- Baltimore City Paper Since 1977, an alternative source of news and opinions on local politics, communities, culture, and the arts. Published every week. Accessible 1997- online. Enoch Pratt Free Library Central Branch has the paper in microfilm back to 1979. No index.
- Baltimore Guide Began in 1927 as a shoppers guide, it serves Southeast and South Baltimore. There has been an online edition since 1997. Enoch Pratt Free Library has microfilm copy of the paper from 2/14/1929-2/8/40,1/10/1957-12/25/69, 1/8/98-12/28/2000. No index
- Urbanite Includes an online archive since January 2004.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait