Featured Source
Local and Regional Government Information: How to Find It, How to Use It
Call Number: M-level, Gen Ref Z 1223.5 .A1 L63 2005
Includes a chapter on finding local information about crime and criminals.
Related Guides
- Newspapers
- Public Safety Online Resources The top databases and online resources to find scholarly articles and background information in public safety
Other Sources
- Crime, Grime, Fear and Decline: A Longitudinal Look The National Institute of Justice (NIJ) supported a longitudinal study that examined developments in Baltimore neighborhoods over more than a decade.
- Annual Reports. Baltimore (Md). Criminal Justice Commission. Library Services Center HV6795.B2B19 Q
The Commission, founded in 1922 by citizens and groups of civic, business and professional organizations, attempted to bring about improvements in the administration of justice in Baltimore. - Report of the Directors of the Marland Penitentiary. Library Services Center HV8340.A2
This report begins in 1838 and documents the expenses of the prison as well as the number of prisoners, their age, sex, color, birth place, location of conviction, offence, escapes, and discharges.
Finding Materials in the Library Catalog
Use the catalog to search the library's holdings on crime in Baltimore City. Try the pre-set searches below.
City Sources
- Baltimore City Police Department The site has a brief history of the police department, maps of the police districts, current 90-day crime statistics mapped down to the neighborhood level, the agency's organization, and more.
- Annual Reports. Baltimore City Police Department. Government Publications - Level A. Eisenhower Library has the report from 2000 forward. Previous issues of the report (1861-1980 and 2000-) are available at the Enoch Pratt Free Library. No reports were published from 1980-1999. Resumed in 2000.
- Mayor's Office on Criminal Justice (MOCJ) Mission is to conduct policy and legislative analysis, and provide staff support to the Mayor. The Office also administers Local Law Enforcement Block Grants, grants from the Governor's Office of Crime Control and Prevention to reduce crime in Baltimore.
Statistics
- Crime Statistics for the City From 2002 - Government Publications has collected annual crime statistics from the Baltimore Police Department. The statistics are available only through ArcGis software.
- Annual Reports. Maryland Division of Correction. Government Publications, Level-A. SRI Microfiche S3665-5. This report, published intermittently, presents data on inmate demographics, such as offenses and committing jurisdictions, as well as prison statistics.
- Crime in Maryland. Uniform Crime Report. Government Publications, Level A, SRI Microfiche, 1990-present. Annual report contains MD crimes and arrests, by offense, with data by location and offender characteristics and trends. Enoch Pratt Free Library has back to 1977. Call number: HV6793.M3M39Q
- Uniform Crime Reports, County Data 1990-2002 Report contains county level data (including Baltimore City) collected by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The database allows you to create your own tables. University of Virginia, Geostate: Geospatial and Statistical Data Center.
ICPSR Data
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Data
ICPSR, head quartered at the University of Michigan, is a membership-based organization providing access to one of the world'slargest archives of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Johns Hopkins University pays an annual membership fee that entitles faculty, staff, and students access to ICPSR's wide range of data and services. The following are examples of Baltimore data that is available:
- Crime Changes in Baltimore, 1970-1994 Contains data that covers resident attitudes, the condition of neighborhoods, and crime rates. (Study No. 2352)
- Baltimore, Maryland Crime Statistics, 1864-1920 Comes from Police Departments, Arrests, and Crime in the United States, 1860-1920. (Study No. 7708)
Get Help |
Ask a LibrarianArchives
- Archival material from the Criminal Justice Commission University of Baltimore. Langsdale Library.
Commission originally chartered in 1922 and became the Mayor'sCommittee on Criminal Justice in 1970. Date of the collection is 1917-1973. Hopkins students can use this collection but need to call ahead. - Ralph G. Murdy Collection, 1878-1972 Managing director and secretary of the Baltimore Criminal Justice Commission (represented the public in dealing with law enforcement). 1970's deputy police commissioner.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait