International Business
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- International Business
- Industries and Marketing
Resources for studying business, management, economic, social, geographic, and political topics involving countries throughout the world.
Books
Search Catalyst (the library's online catalog) to find numerous print and e-books on marketing with an international focus.
Some Title or Subject searches:
- international marketing
- international market
- International business
- global market
- foreign trade
- globalization
- export marketing
- International business enterprises -- marketing
- Marketing -- (specific country, region, or continent)
- Marketing research -- (subcategories followed by region, country or continent)
Doing Business in. . .
- Trade.gov. This U.S. Department of Commerce website includes a collection of Country Commercial guides, trade statistics, how-to guides for conducting business global, and much more.
- Business Ready (B-READY) and Doing Business Archive World Bank's new report benchmarks the business environment worldwide. Link to the "Doing Business" archive provides historical context.
- World Bank E-Library for publications on regulations and doing business abroad.
Information on Specific Industries
- BCC ResearchBCC's market research reports concisely provide market intelligence, five-year forecasting, statistical and analytical data, key players, market share, industry structure and dynamics, technology trends and shifts, and the major developments of industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. Among its 19 industry categories, areas of expertise include health care, advanced materials, high-tech systems and components, nanotechnology, and novel processing methods. Key analysts are available to address data-specific questions.
- Deloitte Industry ResourcesFree website, sponsored by the worldwide accounting firm, contains numerous reports, analyses, and predictions for a wide range of industries around the globe.
- FitchConnect (BMI Research)Country-specific and global industry reports and analysis, including country-specific business risk analysis.
- Frost & SullivanFrost & Sullivan's reports analyze industry transformation and identify innovative growth opportunities. JHED login and ID required for access.
- IBISWorldIBISWorld’s well-designed, in-depth market research reports provide intelligence on a wide range of U.S. and global industries and offer unique insight on China and specialized U.S. industries (i.e. advisory and financial services, franchises, life sciences, online retail, and technology).
- International Trade Administration Export SolutionsInternational Trade Administration's guidance and tools for doing business abroad.
- MarketResearch.com AcademicCurrent and archived market research reports from selected firms are provided by Market Research.com for consumer goods, health care, biotechnology, pharmaceuticals and other industries. Includes reports on demographic groups. Licensed strictly for non-commercial use.
- Mergent Online by FTSE RussellIn-depth reports from Mergent analysts cover the major industries by region (North America, Asia-Pacific, and Europe).
- MintelAlthough mainly U.S. reports and articles on consumer goods and services, content may mention other geographies. Includes data on brands, products, and consumers. Licensed strictly for academic research.
- PAIS InternationalInternational industry overviews for specific markets
- Passport GMID (Euromonitor)Euromonitor's resource for industry, consumer, country, economic, and company information includes data and reports. Scope is national, global, or country-specific. Market share rankings are listed by company and brand. Licensed strictly for academic research.
- S&P NetAdvantageChoose the Markets tab to access in-depth U.S. and international industry reports.
Marketing and Advertising
- Luerzer's ArchiveArchive of international print and video ads
- Winmo (formerly Red Books)Rankings and exclusive information on over 15,500 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Each company listing includes advertising expenditures by media, current agency, fiscal year-end and annual sales, contact information on key personnel, brand name, S.I.C. classifications and other key data. One also can match brands to brand owners. Separate links lead to a visual archive of advertisements. Database limited to two concurrent users.
- Passport GMIDEuromonitor's database contains country-specific advertising expenditures, demographic and consumer data, distribution channels, company and brand shares, company profiles, articles and industry briefings.