Psychological Tests

Instructions for locating the full text of psychological tests.

PsycTESTS for Full Text of Tests

PsycTESTS includes the full text of many, but not all, psychological tests. You can try one of the resources listed below if PsycTests doesn't have the full text.

Find Tests in Scholarly Literature

While many scholarly articles describe studies conducted with psychological tests, they do not often include the test itself. But you can still find a lot of information about the tests in this literature.

Health & Psychosocial Instruments

Covers 1985-present. Contains articles describing questionnaires, rating scales, index measures, scenarios, vignettes, observations, checklists, manuals, etc. Under 'Limit to,' select Primary Source or Secondary Source. Primary Source means the citation is the original source for the instrument. Secondary Source means the instrument was originally developed by another author or for another study. Use reliability and validity as keywords to locate instruments with tested psychometric properties.

PsycINFO

Covers 1887-present. Covers mainly journal articles (includes some books and other material) relevant to psychology, education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Start with a keyword search to find articles relating to a type of inventory and then combine it with a keyword search using the word appended. This will find instruments relating to a specific subject that are included in the article appendix.

PubMed

Covers 1966-present. Contains citations from a broad array of biomedical journals. Useful MeSH (medical subject headings) include questionnaires, psychological tests, health status rating scales, psychiatric status rating scales, and personality inventory.
In PubMed, not all instruments fall under MeSH headings, so try a keyword search such as pregnancy AND questionnaire. Other keywords to consider include inventories, scale measure, measurements, survey, and psychometrics.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Covers 1982-present. CINAHL covers nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and consumer health journals. Any article reporting a research study that uses an instrument has the name of the instrument recorded in the Instrumentation field. In the search box, enter the instrument name and select IN Instrumentation from the drop-down box.

ERIC

Covers 1976-present. ERIC focuses on the U.S. education literature. Phrases to use in your search include: screening tests, diagnostic tests, disability identification, ability identification, and talent identification.