Special Collections: Economic, Social and Political Thought

Blaustein Papers

The Collected Business and Personal Papers of Louis and Jacob Blaustein document the growth of a family owned business in the late nineteenth through twentieth centuries.  The Blaustein family founded and ran the American Oil Company, which developed such business innovations as the drive-in filling station, the see-through pump to verify the grade of gasoline being delivered, and the first anti-knock fuel.

The family had a rich philanthropic history, and devoted time and money to many causes, including the Associated Jewish Charities and the American Jewish Committee.  Jacob Blaustein was also a statesman, and served as an advisor to a number of US Presidents, and supported the development of the United Nations.

Jacob Hollander Papers

Baltimore-born economist Jacob Hollander contributed much to the fields of public finance, money and banking, labor relations, and economic history.  His papers document his work as an economic advisor in Puerto Rico and Santo Domingo, as well as his role as a labor negotiator in the Maryland and Upper Potomac coal fields during the labor disputes in 1918-20.  He had a long-standing interest in labor relations, was a member of the board of referees of the Cleveland garment industry from 1921 to 1932. As a result of a strike by clothing workers in Baltimore in 1932, Hollander investigated conditions in the industry locally.

Hollander was also a member of the university's department of political economy from 1901 to 1938.

Holt Collection

W. Stull Holt was an associate professor of history at Johns Hopkins, and later professor of American history and chair of the department at the University of Washington. He was born in New York City, and received his A. B. from Cornell University. He served in the first world war, first in the American ambulance corps with the French army and later, after the US entered the war, in the US airforce.

Holt's scholarly interest focused on two fields: historiography and the influence of urbanization on American society.

Holt's father, Byron W. Holt, who collected the pamphlets, was a financial writer and an advocate of Henry George's single tax philosophy.

For a finding aid to the collection, click here.

Francis Lieber Papers

Francis Lieber was a publicist, educator, and political philosopher.  The chief importance of the collection is its information about American political philosophy and intellectual history for the mid-nineteenth century and Lieber's role in the transfer of European ideas to America.


Roy Thomas Financial Services Collection

The Roy Thomas Financial Ephemera Collection documents the development of the financial services industry. The bulk of the collection dates from the nineteenth century, and includes insurance and banking forms, account statements, bills, receipts, real estate prospectuses, and correspondence on various financial matters.

Useful Links

For more information check out these related guides:

Trade Union Pamphlets

The Johns Hopkins Political Seminary began a study of trade unions in 1902.  As part of its work, the Seminary collected constitutions, by-laws and promotional materials issued by US trade unions.  Part of the material received can be found in MS 337 Trade Union Collection; the others were bound into volumes under the general call number HD 6516.

Additional trade union publications are listed in the Trial Bibliography of American Trade Union Publications.