The Sheridan Libraries

Current News

Sources on Ukraine in Access World News

JHU has the most current coverage (today’s information) of the invasion of Ukraine in the library’s subscription of Access World News. It includes information out of most of the countries in Europe and in the region. Here is some of the source coverage available in Access World News.

Russia – 15 sources, 9 are Daily, source count includes 5 different language formats of one newswire, Moscow Times is a significant title in English.
Ukraine - 12 sources, 8 are Daily, source count includes 4 different language formats of one newswire.
The region:
- Belarus – 3 sources, all Daily, source count includes 3 different language formats of one newswire.
- Moldova – 3 sources, 2 are Daily.
- Latvia – 2 sources, standout source is The Baltic Times, English-language, which is listed as Weekly but near-Daily article counts. (Latvia not a direct neighbor of Ukraine but the Baltic Times covers all the Baltic nations, they are worried Putin will be coming for them next, so relevant.)

It also includes sources from the rest of Ukraine’s neighbors (Slovakia, Hungary, Poland, and Romania).

You can group together geographic areas in Access World News, using a “world map” to get to these sources. You’ll want to click on the advanced searching/world map link on the Access World News landing page. On the next screen, you should see the world map. You then click on Europe and can keep clicking further to get to the countries listed above.