Read Me First
Privately held companies are not required to file financial data with the Securities Exchange Commission (SEC), nor do they sell stock to the public.
Unless they willingly provide annual reports or information, or are the subjects of news articles, research on private companies will be challenging. Consider choosing a public company instead.
Directories and Profiles
Directories typically provide brief facts and limited financial data for private companies. Some sources provide exact figures; others provide estimates or ranges. Consult more than one resource; coverage varies. Start with S&P Netadvantage and PrivCo for more in-depth profiles.
Use the JHU Libraries Catalog (Catalyst) to locate historical, print business directories, if needed. Ward's Business Directory includes a volume that ranks businesses within a NAICS or SIC industry code.
Regional Business Journals and Rankings
BizJournals Digital Portal
Start with BizJournals Digital Portal to read or search within the business journals of the geographic region where the company is based or where its headquarters are located.
This database includes business journals from 40 major American cities, including the Baltimore Business Journal and the Washington Business Journal. It provides enhanced digital versions of the current and archived print issues; news articles; searchable digital editions of the popular Book of Lists for local business rankings of all 40 markets; and links to information about local, business-oriented events. Select a city from the drop-down menus to read a current issue or use the search boxes to locate articles. This database is limited to 20 simultaneous users.
Book of Lists (Baltimore Business Journal)
View the JHU Libraries Catalog record for locations and editions. Use BizJournals Digital Portal to access the current edition for annual rankings of local businesses by industry, including a table on private companies.