Explore resources for the study of Africa and the African diaspora.
Listed here are selected archival collections held at the Sheridan Libraries of relevance to Africana Studies. Additional relevant archival materials can be found by searching ArchivesSpace; rare books and periodicals can be found in Catalyst, our library catalog. Please see "Finding Special Collections Materials" tab on the left for more information about searching.
- Housing Our Story: Towards Archival Justice for Black Baltimore oral history collectionThis collection consists of twenty-two oral history interviews conducted in 2018 as part of a project titled Housing Our Story: Towards Archival Justice for Black Baltimore.
- John Clark Mayden Photograph CollectionThis collection contains 100 large black-and-white photographic prints made from film negatives by the Baltimore photographer John Clark Mayden, showing scenes of everyday life in Black Baltimore. Please contact special collections to request the collection.
- Johns Hopkins University Collection of Black Americana MaterialsThis collection primarily consists of postcards, broadsides, and other printed ephemera from the 1870s through the 1950s that depict African American people in ways that are often racist and caricatured.
- Johns Hopkins University Collection of African American History and CultureThis collection of printed materials, diaries, photographs, and other items document African American experiences from the 18th century through the 20th century.
- Johns Hopkins University Collection of Maryland African American History and CultureThe Johns Hopkins University collection of Maryland African American history and culture includes letters, legal documents, photographs, and other materials documenting African American history and culture in Maryland from the 18th to the 20th century.
- Johns Hopkins University Collection of African American Political ActivismThis collection contains broadsides, photographs, and newspaper clippings, primarily created between the 1950s and the 1970s, that document African American political activities.
- Johns Hopkins University African American Real Photo Postcard CollectionThis collection contains over 1000 "real photo" postcards--made from actual photographs, rather than commercially published reproductions--that portray African-American subjects. They date from approximately 1905 to approximately 1946. The collection is organized generally by subject matter.