"Literature review," "systematic literature review," "integrative literature review" -- these are terms used in different disciplines for basically the same thing, which is a rigorous examination of the scholarly literature about a topic (at different levels of rigor, and with some different emphases)
1. Our library's guide to Writing a Literature Review
2. Welch Library's list of the types of expert reviews
3. Other helpful sites
- Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy -- This e-book is several editions old, but has basic information that's helpful
- Writing Center at UNC (Chapel Hill) -- A very good guide about lit reviews and how to write them
- Literature Review: Synthesizing Multiple Sources (LSU, June 2019) -- Planning, writing, and tips for revising your paper
- Other books at our library -- These online books are from 2016+ and cover all fields, including health
In addition to a citation manager (such as RefWorks), another way to organize the information you find is to use a matrix.
- Using Google Sheets, Word, Excel, or whatever you want, create a table
- The column headings should include the citation information, and the main points that you want to track, like this:
[Attribution: This document was created by NC State University Writing and Speaking Tutorial Service Tutors during Fall 2006. Contributors were Laura Ingram, James Hussey, Michelle Tigani, and Mary Hemmelgarn. Special thanks to Stephanie Huneycutt for providing the sample matrix and paragraph.]
More pointers from Duquesne University
Is this paper peer-reviewed? Ulrichsweb will tell you.
1) On the library home page , choose "Articles and Databases" --> "Databases" --> Ulrichsweb
2) Put in the title of the JOURNAL (not the article), in quotation marks so all the words are next to each other
3) Mouse over the black icon, and you'll see that it means "refereed" (which means peer-reviewed, because it's been looked at by referees or reviewers). This journal is not peer-reviewed, because none of the formats have a black icon:
4) When a journal is peer-reviewed, it looks like this:
An "annotation" is a note or comment.
- Sage Research Methods (database) --> Empirical Research and Writing (ebook) -- chapter includes how to write annotated bibliographies (this is a great database)
- Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) includes definitions and samples of annotations
- Cornell's guide* to writing annotated bibliographies
* Thank you to Olin Library Reference, Research & Learning Services, Cornell University Library, Ithaca, NY, USA