All of the Things You Need
Save your time! Use these search techniques:
- Put quotation marks around PHRASES (two or more words), so that the words are searched together
--- Example: "chicken pox"
- Put an asterisk at the end of words, so that you get all of the word endings
--- Example: high* = high, highs, higher, highest
- Think of alternate spellings or synonyms
--- "health care" OR healthcare -- it's used both ways. You should also add OR "medical care"
- Start by putting your search words in the TITLE. If you get nothing, you can take them out of the Title and move them to "Anywhere."
Suggested Places to Start
Articles on All Topics -- Academic Search Ultimate
- While you're in Academic Search, you can also put a check next to any other EBSCO databases that you want to search
Research Guides -- There are a lot of these; scroll through the list just so you know what's there.
Current Affairs and News -- See the tab called "What's the News?"
- ProQuest U.S. Newsstream covers lots of news sources
Law, Policy, Political Science-- In CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly), you can browse topics; e.g., Transportation; or Environment, Climate, and Natural Resources.
- Each topic has more specific subtopics; e.g., Transportation --> Public Transportation --> Aging Infrastructure
- GreenFile -- Covers "all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects."
- Gale in Context - Environmental Studies -- "Physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. ...covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development." Start with Browse Topics (on the right)!
[TIP: In your Google Scholar or Google search, add site:.gov . This will get ONLY results from the U.S. government plus a few states.]
- Federal -- EPA, FDA, USDA
- Maryland -- MD Department of Environment
- Baltimore -- Baltimore City Department of Public Works
JHU Info Sources such as the Hub
- For example, this recent item about the change in dining services
VERY Broad Search -- Google Scholar (only as last resort!)
- In addition to the specialized databases listed above, some of your topics might benefit from a carefully focused Google Scholar search
- Make sure to set the dates, UN-check Patents and Citations, use phrases instead of single words, and always make sure you can see FIND IT links
Use journal articles to get:
- a narrow or specific part of your topic
- up-to-date information
1. Library home page --> Databases
2. Click "Browse list of databases"
3. Choose a subject to see the databases with information about it.
4. In each list, start with the databases under CORE -- they are the best and most relevant
- For a description about the database's topics, click "More Info" next to the database name:
How To Cite Sources
The library's Citing guide gives information about the three main reference styles and some others
You may use APA or MLA
Citation Managers -- These let you export citations FROM databases INTO the manager, so that you can put them into separate folders, and bring out a bibliography in whatever style you want
- RefWorks is the citation manager that is supported by JHU. It is free for you.
- Here is our guide about how to use it
- Use the NEW RefWorks! Log in here.
- Here are video tutorials about the NEW RefWorks
- NEVER search from WITHIN RefWorks; always search from within the database itself