South Asian Studies
Explore resources and research tools for South Asian Studies
ONLINE RESOURCES FOR SOUTH ASIAN STUDIES
- 19th Century UK PeriodicalsThe 19th Century UK Periodicals comprises Series I and II. Series I focuses on New Readership which covers Women and Children, Sports and Leisure, & Humor and Satire. Series II focuses on the Empire theme covering travel and anthropology, economics, missionary and colonial.
- Anthropology PlusAnthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological m
- Arts & Humanities Citation IndexArts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
- ARTstorARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesThe on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
- British Library Oriental and Indian Office CollectionsThe Oriental and India Office Collections of the British Library were brought together in 1991. The new department has taken over, from the old Department of Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books, responsibility for the British Library.
- British PeriodicalsBritish Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
- Digital South Asia LibraryIncludes digital versions of works on South Asia including: books, images, dictionaries, statistical works, maps, bibliographies and indexes to periodical literature.
- Early English Books Online (1473-1700)Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Some primary sources on South Asia are available.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), 1701-1800This database contains more than 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes), which includes books, essays, pamphlets, broadsides and more. A good source for priamry sources on South Asia.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineEthnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
- GenderWatchA full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1801-2009/10The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1901-2005 is the most detailed primary source for 20th century Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are a major part of the historical record. The Parliamentary papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy, and provided a forum for ideas for hundreds of thinkers, among them Marconi, Keynes, and Beveridge. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, show
- Humanities International IndexHumanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Formerly the American Humanities Index, this database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustra
- Index IslamicusIndexes materials on Islam, the Middle East, and the entire Muslim world from periodicals, monographs, and other collections in European languages. Includes coverage arts & humanities, history and social sciences topics.
- India DatabaseProQuest Indian Journals is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing full-text, scholarly journals, all published in India. These scholarly sources support many academic fields of study, such as business, medicine, science, technology, social sciences and humanities.
- JSTORJSTor is an archive of important scholarly journals, spanning many disciplines. The most recent 3-5 years are not included.
- MLA International BibliographyMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- PAIS InternationalThe PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
- Project MuseProject MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
- 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection NewspapersThe newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
- Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of older issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.
- British Library's Oriental and India Office Collections holdings of 19th-century Indian publications (OIOC)The collections of the India Office Library and Records reflect the territorial interests and activities of the East India Company and the India Office, and include literature and documents on India, Pakistan, Burma, Bangladesh and neighbouring countries, Iran and the Gulf states, South Africa, St. Helena, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, China and Japan.
- Catalog of the Roja Muthiah Research Library (RMRL)The Roja Muthiah Research Library (RMRL) project was initiated to preserve, catalog, and expand the collection of Roja Muthiah, who during his lifetime amassed one of the world's finest private libraries of Tamil publications. The University of Chicago Library spearheaded a global effort, which resulted in the founding of the Roja Muthiah Research Library to house the collection in 1996. The RMRL provides research materials and facilities for students of Tamil studies in a variety of fields.
- Center for Research Libraries' Holdings - South Asian StudiesThis link provides an introduction to South Asia related sources available from the Center for Research Libraries. Only bibliographic information is available.
- IndCat: Online Union Catalog of Indian UniversitiesIndCat: Online Union Catalogue of Indian Unversities is unified Online Library Catalogues of books, theses and journals available in major university libraries in India. The union database contains bibliographic description, location and holdings information for books, journals and theses in all subject areas available in more than 121 university libraries across the country. A Web-based interface is designed to provide easy access to the merged catalogues. The IndCat is a major source of biblio
- Official Publications of IndiaGovernment documents related to pre-and post-independence South Asia.
- South Asia Research Documentation Services (SARDS) 3SARDS3 is an electronic database containing bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc. SARDS3 is a joint undertaking of the Indological Chairs at the Universities of Bonn, Halle, Munich and the management of the University Library Halle. It aims at the retrospective filling of identifiable bibliographic gaps in the previous version SARDS2 (publications between 1797 and 2000).
- South Asia Union Catalogue (SAUC)The South Asia Union Catalogue is an historical bibliography describing books and periodicals published in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, colonial Burma, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka from 1556 through the present and a union catalogue of holdings.
- Urdu library catalog of the Urdu Research Centre (URLC)URLC has made accessible the private Urdu collection of Mr. Abdus Samad Khan. Mr. Samad Khan's library is widely considered one of the world's finest for early Urdu periodicals and printed books. Holdings are well rounded across all areas of Urdu publishing. Most imprints date from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries and are unavailable at any U.S. library. There are over 26,000 monograph titles in the URLC collection.
- WorldCatWorldCat is the merged catalogs of thousands of libraries. Built and maintained collectively by librarians, WorldCat is continually updated and includes records for a wide variety of works including manuscripts written as early as the 11th century through books, videos and DVDs being published today.