Medicine, Science and the Humanities
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Medicine, Science and the Humanities
- The Germ Theory in Literature
Strategies and information for interdisciplinary research in medicine, science and the humanities, particularly for students and researchers in the MSH program.
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries - Find information on Diseases
- MedLine PlusMaintained by the National Library of Medicine, updated daily, and has extensive information on about 700 diseases and conditions from trusted information sources only. Includes a medical encyclopedia and medical dictionary.
A Dictionary of Public HealthPublication Date: 2007
The Springer Index of VirusesPublication Date: 2011
Medical History Images
- Images in PubMed CentralSearch for words in image captions using the PMC Advanced Search Builder. From the All Fields pull down menu, choose Figure/Table Caption.
Top Digital Primary Sources
- Accessible ArchivesAccessible Archives' databases contain the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
More Guides
News Sources
Start Here
- Scientific AmericanCurrent science news, focus on science discoveries and technology innovation.
- Access World NewsDatabase to search for science and medical news.
- American Association for the Advancement of ScienceContains science and medical news, but also contains other types of sources, including research articles, that can provide additional context.
- Medline PlusDatabase to search for health related news.
- NatureTop journal in science, contains news from authoritative sources.
Start Here
- Scientific AmericanHistoric science news from 1845-1908.
Science and Medicine Research Journals with News Articles
History of Science and Medicine Databases with News Sources
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science.
- History of MedicineThe NLM historical collections include books printed before 1914, pre-1871 journals, historical pamphlets, dissertations, and government reports, early medical manuscripts dating from the 11th century, modern manuscripts (1601-present), historical videos and films, and historical prints and photographs. Most of the collection is not online, but look at the site to find out about what is.
Find Research Articles
- MedlineResearch authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more with MEDLINE®.
- PubMedPubMed lists journal articles and more back to 1947. It indexes about 5,400 journals and covers the areas of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, preclinical sciences, and related areas. PubMed also links to online books and to most of the other NCBI databases.
- JSTORSearch this archive of full-text scholarly journals spanning a number of disciplines.
Scientist Biographies
- Biography and Genealogy Master IndexBiography and Genealogy Master Index enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
- Biography in ContextBiography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites. Search for current or historic figures based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.
- Biography Index Past and PresentBiography Index: Past and Present is a trusted, biographical resource. Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing to produce a comprehensive biographical resource for students, scholars, media professionals, book clubs, and all researchers seeking biographical information.
- Biography Index RetrospectiveBiography Index: Past and Present is a trusted, biographical resource. Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing to produce a comprehensive biographical resource for students, scholars, media professionals, book clubs, and all researchers seeking biographical information.
History and Medical History
- History of MedicineThe NLM historical collections include books printed before 1914, pre-1871 journals, historical pamphlets, dissertations, and government reports, early medical manuscripts dating from the 11th century, modern manuscripts (1601-present), historical videos and films, and historical prints and photographs. Most of the collection is not online, but look at the site to find out about what is.