Medicine, Science and the Humanities
Strategies and information for interdisciplinary research in medicine, science and the humanities, particularly for students and researchers in the MSH program.
- More medical dictionariesPrint and online.
- Concise medical dictionaryCall Number: This is an ebook.
- Stedman's Medical DictionaryCall Number: This is an ebook.
Medical History Images
- Images in PubMed CentralSearch for words in image captions using the PMC Advanced Search Builder. From the All Fields pull down menu, choose Figure/Table Caption.
More Helpful Guides
History of Medicine
by Heather Furnas Last Updated Nov 9, 2022 559 views this year
History of Science and Technology
by Heather Furnas Last Updated Mar 9, 2023 744 views this year
by Joshua Everett Last Updated Jan 10, 2022 149 views this year
Film and Media Studies
by Donald Juedes Last Updated Nov 3, 2022 366 views this year
by Donald Juedes Last Updated Mar 1, 2023 359 views this year
by Joanne Helouvry Last Updated Mar 23, 2023 262 views this year
Women Gender and Sexuality
by Siân Evans Last Updated Jan 30, 2023 93 views this year
History and Medical History
- History of MedicineThe NLM historical collections include books printed before 1914, pre-1871 journals, historical pamphlets, dissertations, and government reports, early medical manuscripts dating from the 11th century, modern manuscripts (1601-present), historical videos and films, and historical prints and photographs. Most of the collection is not online, but look at the site to find out about what is.
- MedlineResearch authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more with MEDLINE®.
- PubMedPubMed lists journal articles and more back to 1947. It indexes about 5,400 journals and covers the areas of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, preclinical sciences, and related areas. PubMed also links to online books and to most of the other NCBI databases.
- JSTORSearch this archive of full-text scholarly journals spanning a number of disciplines.
Top Historical News Sources
Top Digital Primary Sources
- Accessible ArchivesAccessible Archives' databases contain the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
- Encyclopedia of Women in the RenaissanceCall Number: This is an ebook.
- American Medical Association Complete Medical EncyclopediaCall Number: Eisenhower C Level Reference: RC81.A2 A497 2003