The Sheridan Libraries

Latin American Policy Studies (SAIS)

Latin American News Digest This link opens in a new window
News coverage and analysis produced by Latin Americans.

Latin News
Political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean. Access limited to certain publications.
BBC Monitoring: International Reports
Provides news and information based on round-the-clock monitoring of radio, TV, press, internet and news agency sources around the world. Reports are translated into English from more than 100 languages. Included in Nexis UNI. Coverage: 2001-current.

ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text US news, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Proquest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Fulltext news outside of the US and Canada, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and BBC.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text world-wide news source.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Note: First-time access requires creation of an individual account using your JHU email. After setup, you can login directly at economist.com, using Log in with SSO.
Financial Times Online This link opens in a new window
Note: First-time access requires creation of an individual account using your JHU email. After setup, you can login directly at ft.com
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Coverage of foreign news media
PressReader.com This link opens in a new window
Full image, includes tabloids and magazines. Arranged by country, latest 60 days only.

InSight Crime
A think tank and media organization that seeks to deepen and inform the debate about organized crime and citizen security in the Americas.

For a more thorough listing of current and historical news research resource, see the News and Newspapers guide.

Latin American Newspapers, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
Limited selection of archived issues for newspapers from Latin American countries.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690 -1922) This link opens in a new window
Covering 1690 - 1922, this database present full PDF images of the papers. Includes newspapers of the United States and the Caribbean.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search New York Times, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, Wall St. Journal, The Guardian UK, and more, back to the 19th century.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1950-1996 This link opens in a new window
English translations of radio and tv broadcasts and news articles worldwide. A valuable source for primary research. Articles from 1974-1996 are included.
World News Connection: 1995-2013 This link opens in a new window
Continuation of FBIS Daily Reports. Ceased publication Dec 31, 2013.
Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital newspaper collections from around the world.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Contains scattered issues from more than 140 newspaper titles published between 1718-1876.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
A cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
Latin America Digital Beat (LADB)
Since 1986, LADB produced three weekly electronic publications: NotiCen, NotiSur, and SourceMex, drawn from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals. Publication ceased in 2018.