The Sheridan Libraries

Russian and Eurasian Policy Studies (SAIS)

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
Source for respected country analysis reports, data, and industry information. Click on "Geography" to search by country.
BMI (formerly FitchConnect) This link opens in a new window
Search across 200 countries for banking & finance, risk, defense, energy and other industry reports.
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Search for publications and data from the International Monetary Fund.
Statesman's Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Covers 1864 - present

Labyrinth
A free demo search of the database that acts as a directory to about 700 biographies. No fulltext access to biographies of politicians, officials and business people, major businesses, political organizations from Russia and SNG countries. Only available in Russian.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies This link opens in a new window
Information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES) This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, articles and dissertations covering Eastern European countries, including former Soviet Union (1991-2007)

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Includes histories of Russia, Russian Literature, and the New Cambridge Modern History collection.

The modern encyclopedia of Russian, Soviet and Eurasian history
The most authoritative, comprehensive and balanced reference work about Russia, the Soviet Union and Eurasia.
Great Soviet Encyclopedia
Translation of the 3rd ed. of Bol'shaia͡ sovetskaia͡ ents͡iklopediia͡ and as such it retains the Soviet point of view and provides Western scholars with information about the former Soviet Union.
Encyclopedia of Russian History
Also in print

Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an online documentary video streaming service covering diverse content areas.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Streaming service that delivers video titles across a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, film, health, history, and more.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to documentary and social issues films and videos.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
A collection of films from the communist world that reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens.