Biomedical Engineering and Design
These databases contain medical-device-related industry information. (Start with the first three.)
(This page of the Business guide has more.)
Note: This kind of report is expensive and proprietary; they can't be borrowed and the library does not buy them.
-- The only way you can get them is through our "academic" versions of the databases.
- BCC Research -- BCC's market research reports give five-year forecasting, statistical and analytical data, key players, market share, technology trends, and more. Areas of expertise include health care, advanced materials, high-tech systems and components, nanotechnology, and novel processing methods.
--- Note: Quotation marks around a phrase do NOT work in this database.
--- Note: The home page of this database now says "Academic Library," but enter a word and the usual platform will appear.
- IBISWorld -- Gives information about the industry as a whole, including industry performance and outlook, statistics, products and markets, major companies, operating conditions, and more.
- MarketResearch.com -- Current and archived market research reports about biotechnology, health care, pharmaceuticals, and other industries. Includes demographic reports for specific populations.
- Gartner Advisory Intra Web--Market research database for anything related to computers in all industries. In the health care industry, this includes wearable devices, medical information systems, telemedicine, and many other health-care-related devices and systems.
- Statista: The Statistics Portal--An excellent database of statistics and analyses of a very wide range of topics, including health care. May have market size/share info, health and disease stats, and much more. Always worth a visit to see what you find, especially since some of the info is not available anywhere else.
---Example: "Projected total costs of cardiovascular disease in the U.S. from 2015 to 2035, by disease type (in billion U.S. dollars)"
- Mintel --For devices and services that are consumer-oriented (direct sale to consumers, of direct interest to consumers), this is a great database. It has both industry analysis and also consumer attitudes surveys on topics such as exercise/fitness, over-the-counter medications, alternative medicine, wearable devices, etc.
- Refinitiv Workspace Register for an account to access Refinitiv's market information, earnings estimates, financials, fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles, research reports and ESG metrics. Explore menus or type a topic or company name in the search box.
The library has created an in-depth handout with step-by-step instructions on how to conduct market research using the many resources available to you. All of the suggested resources, whether library-subscribed databases, governmental websites, or other websites, are hyperlinked.
Use the link below to download a copy of the handout.
Technology Transfer -- Johns Hopkins Technology Ventures (JHTV)
- report an invention
- find funding
- explore companies
|--Companies||Licensing Process||Industry-sponsored Research||Corporate Partnerships||FastForward|
|--Technologies||Reports of Invention||Translational Funding||Licensing||Social Innovaation Lab|
|Material Transfer Agreements||Startup Funding||Investments||Commercialization Academy|
|Diversity in Innovation|
|JHTV Digital Library|
Background Info for U.S. Healthcare System
Books on the U.S. Health Care System
Try these e-books:
- in the SUBJECT, put these terms: "medical policy" "united states" health
- under Format, choose ONLINE
- under Publication year, choose 2018 (leave second block blank; that will get everything to the present)
Kaiser Family Foundation U.S. Health Care System Tutorials
The Kaiser Family Foundation is a not-for-profit organization that funds and reports on research into a variety of health care issues. Search the KFF website to find clear, well-organized, basic information about the health care system in the United States. Topics include costs and spending, delivery systems, health insurance, and much more. Each topic has a "collection" of videos, slide shows, links, and Web searches.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
The Robert Wood Johnson (RWJ) Foundation is another not-for-profit organization that funds and reports on research into health care policy and delivery. The RWJ website's keyword-searchable "Research & Publications" tab will lead you to a wealth of information about various aspects of the U.S. health care system. Topics covered include medical treatment facilities, barriers to health care, health care provider payment models and payment reform, etc.
There are thousands of business terms across the many business disciplines: finance, banking, insurance, management, information technology, real estate, biotech, manufacturing, transportation, not-for-profit, and so on. Here are links to a couple of online, searchable business dictionaries.
Cambridge Business English Dictionary--Search by word or browse keywords by category.
BusinessDictionary.com--Just type in a word and find the basic definition, or browse by topic. You can also sign up for a "term of the day" newsletter.
As with vocabulary, there are endless numbers of business-related acronyms and terms. Here are a few places to search for meanings of acronyms you come across as you study the world of business.
Business and Marketing news can be found in several places.
- Newspapers and More -- The Newspapers list has the Wall Street Journal and many other choices.
- Trade Journals and More -- Use the databases listed under "Core Databases" on the library's Business Databases list.
- Use STAT Plus, a source of news in biotech, pharma, and other areas.
For STAT Plus, you will need to create an account:
- Use your JHU email address
- On the STAT Plus home page, choose “subscribe (as shown below)
- Once you log in, you stay logged in for 30 days
- AFTER 30 days, you will need to log in again
- If you are ON campus, use Hopkins wireless
- If you are OFF campus, log in using either my.jhu.edu or the Catalyst log in (My Account on the top right of the library home page)