Data Management

Help with Statistics

The Johns Hopkins Biostatistics Center

JHU Biostatistics Center provides consulting on biostatistical issues related to the effective collection and interpretation of health information including research design, professional and scientific report-writing, and statistical analysis.

The Biostatics, Epidemiology and Data Management (BEAD) Core

Bead Core at the School of Medicine provides a myriad of consulting and support services around study design and analysis, database development, and survey design review. Please note, it is most beneficial to the researcher to receive help from BEAD prior to data collection. For more info or to request a consult email cchrbead@jhmi.edu.

Resources for Computing in the Natural and Social Sciences

This comprehensive list of books for several programming languages is developed by Bates College. Languages/Softwares listed in this LibGuide include R, Python, MATLAB, Perl, Java, C and GIS.

Big Data

The Institute for Data Intensive Engineering and Science (IDIES)

IDIES fosters education and research in applying data-intensive technologies to problems of national interest in physical and biological sciences and engineering. The Institute also provides JHU faculty, researchers and students with the structure and resources needed to accomplish these goals; see their resource page for a list of available big data capabilities.

Maryland Advanced Research Computing Center (MARCC)

MARCC is a shared computing facility located on JHU’s Bayview campus. This facility is funded jointly by JHU and the University of Maryland, College Park. You can request a user account or allocation (if you are a PI) on MARCC’s website. Training is also available for people who are interested in using the facility (Introductory session) or learning about scientific computing (Introduction to Scientific Computing).

Data Science at NIH

Resources of NIH data science related events and news, include information about NIH’s Big Data to Knowledge (BD2K) initiative and NIH Commons. The BD2K Training Coordinating Center offers resources and tools for biomedical researchers to navigate data science field. These BD2K Guide to the Fundamentals of Data Science Series can provide a basic understanding of data science for biomedical researchers.

NIH's BD2K Guide to the Fundamental of Data Science

This Big Data 2 Knowledge lecture series covers the basics of data management, representation, computation, statistical inference, data modeling and other topics related to biomedical big data.  

Software Development

Software Carpentry

Software Carpentry provides workshops to teach researcher computing skills they need for their research. Current courses include R, Python, MATLAB, Unix and SQL. You can request a workshop for your institution, or attend an upcoming one at your institution. Also see Data Carpentry‘s workshops for teaching basic data skills to researchers.

GitHub

GitHub is a place to develop, store and share your software projects. You can work collaboratively with your colleagues to develop software and share publicly with others. There are free and paid options for GitHub services. The free service includes one private repository and unlimited public repositories for users. GitHub has 10-minute guide and several online video guides about how to use GitHub.

GitLab

GitLab is another place to develop software projects collaboratively and share software publicly. It also offers free and paid service options. The free GitLab service provides unlimited private and public repositories for users.