Data Management

Best Practices for Data Management

Best Practices for Research Data Management and Sharing

Effective data management can increase the pace of the research process, contribute to the soundness of research results, and meet funding agency requirements by making research data easy to share. Join us for an overview of best practices including backup procedures, tips on effective file names, data security and access controls, and data documentation/metadata. This seminar is for faculty, postdoctoral researchers and graduate students from all disciplines. This course does not focus on creating or using any particular data collection or analysis tool (e.g. REDCap, SPSS), but discusses data management at a general level.

 

Effectively Managing and Sharing Research Data in Spreadsheets

Regardless of discipline studied or methods used, it is likely that researchers use some sort of spreadsheet application (e.g. Excel) to investigate, manipulate, or share research data. Though easy to exchange with other researchers, difficulties can arise when using other researchers’ spreadsheet data when sharing and preservation are not adequately considered.

COURSERA Research Data Management and Sharing Online Course

A 5-week online data management course on COURSERA, offered by University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the University of Edinburgh. It is a free course, but a fee is attached if you require a certificate of completion. This course will cover the following topics: Understanding research data, Data management planning, Working with data, Sharing data and Archiving data.

 

COURSERA Data Management for Clinical Research Online Course

A 6-week online data management course for people who conduct clinical research on COURSERA, offered by Vanderbilt University. It is a free course, but a fee is attached if you require a certificate of completion. The first part of the course covers best practices for clinical data management, followed by a demonstration of using REDCap to design an Electronic Data Capture (EDC) system. In addition, data management practices in different fields, such as neurimaging data management, mHealth in developing countries, and data management for multi-center studies, are mentioned in the end.

MANTRA Research Data Management Online Course

A free, online research data management course provided by the Data Library at the University of Edinburgh. Topics include: Research data explained; File formats & transformation; Data protection, rights & access; Data management plans; Documentation, metadata, citation; Sharing, preservation & licensing; Organizing data; Storage & security and Data handling tutorials. A DIY training kit is also available for instructors who want to develop a data management course.

 

ESIP Data Management Short Course for Scientists

A data management short course developed by the Federation of Earth Science Information Partners (ESIP), in cooperation with NOAA and the Data Conservancy. The following topics are included in this course: Data stewardship, Data management plans, Local data management and Responsible data use.

Data Carpentry

Data Carpentry develops and offers workshops for researchers to teach them fundamental data skills needed to conduct research. Workshops are domain-specific and current workshops cover the following disciplines: EcologyGenomicsGeospatial dataSocial Science and Biology. You can request a workshopfor your institution, or attend an upcoming one at your institution. Also see Software Carpentry‘s workshops for teaching basic software skills to researchers.

New England Collaborative Data Management Curriculum (NECDMC)

An instructional tool for instructors to develop a research data management course for researchers. A detailed lesson plan and materials for seven data management modules are included in this curriculum. Sample class activities, research cases and data management plans are also available.

Collaboration Tools

Cloud Storage Services Evaluation

Compares four different cloud services: JHBoxOneDriveDropbox and Google Drive. Provides best practices for using cloud storage to collaborate and storage your data.

 

Johns Hopkins Box (JHBox)

JHBox is a cloud-based file sharing and file storage service which enables people to collaborate and share information and can be accessed through any device: desktop, laptop, phone, or tablet. 50GB of space per user. Contact jhboxsupport@jh.edu if you have any questions about using JHBox.

Secure Analytic Framework Environment (SAFE) Desktop

A virtual desktop that provides a secure environment for researchers to remotely work with their clinical data and use software application. Researchers can also SAFE to share data with your team members and/or collaborators in a secure way. The Basic SAFE is free, including access to virtual desktop, 100 GB storage and licensing for SAS and Stata. Additional fee will apply if require more storage or licenses for other software. Please contact Bonnie Woods at bonnie.woods@jhu.edu to request a SAFE Desktop.

 

Open Science Framework (OSF)

The Open Science Framework (OSF) is a free and open source web application built by the Center for Open Science to aid researchers in managing the entire scientific research workflow. The user interface is designed to allow you to manage multiple projects from a single dashboard.  If you are affiliated with JHU, you can use your JHU credential to sign in here (Choose login and then select login through your institution).  Additionally, all interested researchers can sign up for an account on the OSF website.

To learn more about the OSF and how it can be beneficial to your research, please visit our OSF for JHU Researchers – FAQ page.

If you would like assistance using OSF for JHU, please contact us and we are happy to help you set up an OSF page for your project(s)!

Data Security and Backup

Services from IT@JH

Information Technology @ Johns Hopkins (IT@JH) offers a variety of virtual computing, storage, back-up and web hosting services for JHU researchers. Contact them directly or through the departmental IT representatives.

 

Whiting Information Technology

For projects requiring new storage, network, or collaboration solutions, WSE IT offers guidance on available resources and options for Whiting School of Engineering. Contact them directly or through the departmental IT representatives.

 

Krieger Information Technology

For projects requiring new storage, network, or collaboration solutions, KIT offers guidance on available resources and options for Krieger school departments. Contact them directly or through the departmental IT representatives.

 

JHU Information Security Institute (JHUISI)

JHUISI is JHU’s focal point for research and education in information security, assurance and privacy. It offers graduate degree program and online program for students who are interested in information security. Faculty’s research focus on two major areas: Cryptography and privacy, and Health and medical security.

JHU Privacy Office

JHU Privacy Office assists JHU researchers who work with PHI data to comply with state and federal health care privacy laws, including HIPAA. This website provides forms, policies, procedures, guidance and other information related to protecting patient’s privacy. In addition, a data breach event should be reported to JHU Privacy Office for review.

 

Security Checklist for Research Datasets

JHU Information Security has developed a Security Checklist for Research Datasets. This checklist, while not exhaustive, covers essential security controls for research datasets containing E-PHI (electronic protected health information).

 

HIPAA Security Rule

The HIPAA Security Rule establishes national standards to protect individuals’ electronic personal health information that is created, received, used, or maintained by a covered entity. Summary of the HIPAA Security Rule is available here and a combined text rules can be found here.

Documentation and Metadata

Online Guide to Metadata for Effective Research Data Management

What is metadata, and what does it have to with research data? Find here a description of metadata for research data management and ten questions/guidelines you can use in developing comprehensive metadata for your project.

 

Research Data Documentation Workbook 

A speadsheet tool to help organize and document a research project, its digital files, and derivative sets of files such as data associated with a publication or shared online.

Clinical Data Management

COURSERA Data Management for Clinical Research Online Course

A 6-week online data management course for people who conduct clinical research on COURSERA, offered by Vanderbilt University. It is a free course, but a fee is attached if you require a certificate of completion. The first part of the course covers best practices for clinical data management, followed by a demonstration of using REDCap to design an Electronic Data Capture (EDC) system. In addition, data management practices in different fields, such as neurimaging data management, mHealth in developing countries, and data management for multi-center studies, are mentioned in the end.

 

NIH's BD2K Guide to the Fundamental of Data Science

This Big Data 2 Knowledge lecture series covers the basics of data management, representation, computation, statistical inference, data modeling and other topics related to biomedical big data.  

Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (ICTR)

The ICTR provides clinical resources, consulting services, funding and training for JHU clinical researchers. Submit a request here if you need ICTR services. Or visit their training and resources pages to find out more about how can ICTR help with your clinical research.

 

The Johns Hopkins Biostatistics Center

JHU Biostatistics Center provides consulting on biostatistical issues related to the effective collection and interpretation of health information including research design, professional and scientific report-writing, and statistical analysis.

 

The Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Data Management (BEAD) Core

BEAD Core at the School of Medicine provides a myriad of consulting and support services around study design and analysis, database development, and survey design review. Please note, it is most beneficial to the researcher to receive help from BEAD prior to data collection. For more info or to request a consult email cchrbead@jhmi.edu.

 

REDCap

Research Electronic Data Capture (REDCap) is a mature, secure web application for building and managing online surveys and databases. Contact Andre W Hackman or Scott Carey if you are interested in using REDCap.

Data Science at NIH

Resources of NIH data science related events and news, include information about NIH’s Big Data to Knowledge (BD2K) initiative and NIH Commons. The BD2K Training Coordinating Center offers resources and tools for biomedical researchers to navigate data science field. These BD2K Guide to the Fundamentals of Data Science Series can provide a basic understanding of data science for biomedical researchers.

Secure Analytic Framework Environment (SAFE) Desktop

A virtual desktop that provides a secure environment for researchers to remotely work with their clinical data and use software application. Researchers can also SAFE to share data with your team members and/or collaborators in a secure way. The Basic SAFE is free, including access to virtual desktop, 100 GB storage and licensing for SAS and Stata. Additional fee will apply if require more storage or licenses for other software. Please contact Bonnie Woods at bonnie.woods@jhu.edu to request a SAFE Desktop.

 

Security Checklist for Research Datasets

JHU Information Security has developed a Security Checklist for Research Datasets. This checklist, while not exhaustive, covers essential security controls for research datasets containing E-PHI (electronic protected health information).

 

HIPAA Security Rule

The HIPAA Security Rule establishes national standards to protect individuals’ electronic personal health information that is created, received, used, or maintained by a covered entity. Summary of the HIPAA Security Rule is available here and a combined text rules can be found here.