Data Management

Resources for Designing Experiments

The Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Data Management (BEAD) Core

Bead Core at the School of Medicine provides a myriad of consulting and support services around study design and analysis, database development, and survey design review. Please note, it is most beneficial to the researcher to receive help from BEAD prior to data collection. For more info or to request a consult email cchrbead@jhmi.edu.

 

The Johns Hopkins Biostatistics Center

JHU Biostatistics Center provides consulting on biostatistical issues related to the effective collection and interpretation of health information including research design, professional and scientific report-writing, and statistical analysis.

 

REDCap

Research Electronic Data Capture (REDCap) is a mature, secure web application for building and managing online surveys and databases. Contact Andre W Hackman or Scott Carey if you are interested in using REDCap.

Access Existing Datasets

Data Access and Discovery Services by JHU Data Services

JHU Data Services unit can assist you with identifying both commercial and publicly-available datasets. In addition, we provide access to ArcGIS software (campus license), and in-house access to Stata and SPSS.

 

Center for Clinical Data Analysis (CCDA) 

CCDA is under Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (ICTR) at JHMI. It assists researchers with accessing clinical data for research purposes, and help researchers complying privacy and security regulations.

 

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org)

A global registry of data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. Use re3data.org to search for data repositories in a specified discipline and download and/or deposit data there.

Human Subject Research

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

The Homewood Institutional Review Board (HIRB) monitors human subject research for the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, Whiting School of Engineering, School of Education, Carey Business School, Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, and Peabody Institute. Separate institutional Review Boards (IRBs) exist for the School of Public Health and the School of Medicine.

 

HIPAA for Professional by US Health and Human Services 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services  provides information regarding patient privacy, de-identification methods, security, etc., for people who work with data containing Protected Health Information/Personal Identifiable Information. If you plan to work with PHI/PII data, their Guidance Regarding Methods for De-identification of Protected Health Information in Accordance with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Privacy Rule defines 18 personal identifiers and acceptable methods to de-identify patient information.