Find a Repository
Research data can be archived into the JHU Data Archive. Research data is made discoverable and publicly-accessible, assigned a unique, persistent identifier (such as DOI) for accurate citation by others, and managed to ensure that they are usable in the future. JHU Data Archive is available to all JHU researchers, including graduate students. Archiving services for projects under 1 TB are FREE. For archiving larger datasets, please contact us to discuss fees that may apply. More information about data sharing and archiving is available on our Archiving page.
University Archives and Records Management
The Ferdinand Hamburger University Archives preserves the history of the Johns Hopkins University in print and digital form, including the privately-held records of JHU faculty.
Tips and set of questions researchers can use in determining whether a particular research data repository will work for their circumstances.
DSpace preserves digital materials generated related to Johns Hopkins research. It is also a place for Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) for Johns Hopkins students (If you need help with the thesis/dissertation submission, you can find the instruction here, including an 1-hour recorded ETD workshop video).
One of the largest archives of datasets in the world, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, (ICPSR) has a vast collection of social, political, and behavioral science datasets. These datasets can be used in a multitude of fields such as sociology, political science, history, business, public health, economics, and education. You might consider archiving with ICPSR if your work falls into one of these categories or other related subjects and/or if you are looking for an archive that will support sensitive, restricted use data.
A global registry of data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. Use re3data.org to search for data repositories in a specified discipline and download and/or deposit data there.