Explore resources and tools for history and historical research.
Free Speech and Censorship in the United States
Professor Jelavich, Spring 2019
- Hein Online Our subscription to HeinOnline includes access to the Federal Register Library, Code of Federal Regulations, Foreign and International Law Resources Database, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), Legal Classics, Treaties and Agreements Library and the U.S. Presidential Library.
- Nexis Uni Nexis Uni, previously known as Lexis Nexis Academic, contains the full text of hundreds of publications, including law journals, wire services, country economic reports, government publications, magazines, newspapers, news digests, and industry-specific newsletters and periodicals.
- WestlawNext Campus Research WestlawNext Campus Research searches a collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal and state case law, court rules, statutory and regulatory materials, reference publications, and full text legal periodicals as well as legal guides and information for pre-law students.
- Code of Federal Regulations The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations (sometimes called administrative law) published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government of the United States. The CFR is published by the Office of the Federal Register, an agency of the National Archives and Records Administration.
- Federal Register Library The Federal Register Library contains the Federal Register from its inception in 1936, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Administrative Procedure Act, Code of Emergency Federal Regulations, the U.S. Government Manual and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. The Federal Register is the main source for the United States federal government agencies' proposed new rules, final rules, changes to existing rules and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
- Case Law
- CQ Supreme Court Collection CQ Supreme Court Collection blends historical analysis with timely updates and expert commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.
- Hein Online
- Nexis Uni
- WestlawNext Campus Research
- CQ Almanac The best primary resource for coverage and analysis of U.S. Congressional legislation from 1945 to today.
- CQ Congress Collection CQ Congress Collection is a dynamic research and reference tool allowing historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.
- CQ Magazine Each issue of CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly) contains an unbiased, objective and comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week.
- LexisNexis State Capital LexisNexis State Capital is a database of the United States 50 states’ laws and regulations. One can search for the status or text of bills and find state statutes or find summaries of state laws. Also, there are summaries of regulations and searchable full-text of regulations. In addition, there is information about state legislators, their staffs and state offices. Material on state-specific issues can be found in the State Net Capitol Journal, NCSL LegisBriefs, NCSL State Legislatures Magazine, NCSL State Legislative Reports, and the State Newspapers of Record.
- ProQuest Congressional An index of U.S. congressional publications, with abstracts and links to full-text documents and related sites. This database includes the following collections: Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1948; Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations, 1789-2014; Legislative Histories 1960 - Present; Bills & Laws 1789 - Present; Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1817 - Present; Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789 - 1999; Congressional Record Daily Edition 1985 - Present; Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) 1916 - Present; Hearings 1824 - Present; House & Senate Documents 1817 - Present; House & Senate Reports 1817 - Present; Serial Set 1789 - Present; and Serial Set Maps 1789 - Present.
- Congress.gov (formerly Thomas) THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. Since that time THOMAS has expanded the scope of its offerings to include: bills & resolutions, activity in Congress, Congressional Record, Schedules/Calendars, Committee Information, presidential nominations, treaties, and government resources.
- Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court explains everything readers need to know about the Supreme Court, from its origins and how it functions, to the people who have shaped it and the impact of its decisions on American life.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text An excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law, Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text provides complete coverage of the most important English-language legal information, including access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more. Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text also provides international coverage, including periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
- Legal Classics An excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law, Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text provides complete coverage of the most important English-language legal information, including access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more. Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text also provides international coverage, including periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
- Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Papers, 1912-1990 Spans the majority of the twentieth century, from 1912 to 1990. The papers in this collection focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 "The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926" provides fulltext searching and digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926.
- Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1970 Designed to complement The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, this archive offers online access to state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.
- Oxford Reference Online
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Fedlaw FedLaw was developed to see if legal resources on the Internet could be a useful and cost-effective research tool for Federal lawyers and other Federal employees. Fedlaw has assembled references of use to people doing Federal legal research.