Scholarly Metrics
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Scholarly Metrics
- Scopus: Straighten up your Author Record
Uses
An up-to-date Scopus record makes it easier for researchers to claim their work and to receive proper accreditation for it. Many institutions rely upon Scopus data to identify emerging trends within research and to conduct comparative analyses across peer institutions.
Note
If you have follow-up questions about Scopus, please contact your librarian or Scholarly Impact Services.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, which indexes research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social science, and arts and humanities.
To learn more, you can download the Scopus Content Coverage Guide on their website: https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/scopus/how-scopus-works/content.
Step 1: Create an account in Scopus
To claim your author record within Scopus, you must create an account. This account is not tied to your JHED login. This Scopus account also allows you to save records and searches.
- Go to Scopus: https://databases.library.jhu.edu/databases/proxy/JHU05906
- Click Create Account in the upper right
- Provide an email address and create a password.
- Check Stay Signed In box
- Click Sign in.
If you already have a Scopus account
- Go to Scopus: https://databases.library.jhu.edu/databases/proxy/JHU05906
- Click on Sign In in the upper right
- You (or your browser) will enter your email and password
- Click Sign In
Step 2. Validate your publication record
Once in Scopus, select the radio button for ‘Authors’ and search for your name.
- If your work is associated with one name on the list, click on that name and review the information under Documents for accuracy. If your record is incomplete, click Edit Author Profile in upper right corner to get to the Scopus Author Wizard to update your record. If you haven’t logged in yet, you’ll be asked to login now.
- Multiple records may appear. Click the number of documents next to a name to see the articles associated with that name. You can click Request to Merge Authors at the top of the table to pull together variations of your name. If you haven’t logged in yet, you’ll be asked to login now.
- If you’ve had to request changes, the system will send you a verification email. The corrections will only appear in Scopus when they are fully processed, which will take some time. You will receive updates and communications about this process via email.
Limitations
- Coverage focuses on journal articles; books and book chapters appear less consistently.
- Science, technology and medicine are covered more thoroughly than the social sciences and humanities.
- Authors cannot edit records manually. Corrections to an author profile must be submitted through Scopus.