Public Health

Articles, books, statistics, how to cite references, and more information about the multidisciplinary field of public health.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

To access JHU's e-resources from your NON-Hopkins device: always login through the portal (my.jhu.edu).
(Look at the rest of this Public Health guide for more information about everything.)
 
The JHU libraries have access to almost any article, conference paper, book, or other material that you might need.
  • Because you are affiliated with the School of Public Health, your "home" library is Welch Medical Library. Therefore, you should request books through links on their home page. [More information under the tab "Getting Books and E-books]
     
  • You already have particular government sites to which you regularly go for information. However, if you want to see most or all of the listings for a particular topic on a U.S. government site, use usa.gov.
    -- Or, use this great Google trick:  to any search, add   site:.gov . That will get you ONLY information from U.S. gov sites (and from a few U.S. states).

Research Guides

To get articles from most journals:

  • Search a database
  • Click the icons that say FIND IT@JHU or JHU Full Text
  • The "Find It" page will list the links to the full text
  • To find specific databases, use MSEL library home page --> Articles and Databases --> Databases

For journals not owned by JHU, or if we don't have access:

------------------------------

Google Scholar

1. Library home page --> Articles and Databases --> Google Scholar


2. Use the little arrows UNDER the citation to see the FINDIT links:


3. To focus your search, UN-check the boxes on the left ("patents"; "citations"), and always set the date range that you want.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In your Google Scholar list of article results, you may also see books.
  1. If you click on the title, Google Scholar will take you to Google Books
  2. However, copyright law prevents them from showing you the whole book
  3. Search the library catalog for the book you want -- if we have it, you can see 100% of it
  4. If we do not have a book in any format, please request it through Interlibrary Loan

Guides by Topic --> News and Newspapers 

  • The sources under "Core" are current U.S. newspapers
  • Under "U.S. Newspapers," ProQuest Newsstand has the major U.S. papers plus many non-major ones
  • ABI/INFORM -- This is business news and is very good

Librarians who can help:

  • Jim Gillispie, GIS and Data Services on A Level, jeg@jhu.edu
  • Yunshan Ye, Political Science Librarian, yye@jhu.edu

These gentlemen are both very smart and incredibly nice. Please send them a note whenever you need help with laws, patents, regulations, or other government or legal information.

Because you are affiliated with the School of Public Health, your "home" library is Welch Medical Library. Therefore, you should request books through links on their home page.

For JHU books:

  • Find it in the library catalog
  • Use the "Request" button (a few things are not requestable, such as books on Reserve)
  • Choose the most convenient library location to pick up your books
  • E-books -- as well as ALL books and materials, no matter the format -- are in the catalog

For books not owned by JHU:  use Interlibrary Loan from the Welch home page

Trace lines of research through articles:  when you find a good article, check what later articles cited it.

Three general databases show who has cited an article: 

  • Web of Science
  • Scopus
  • Google Scholar

Unfortunately, they all provide different numbers of results. To be thorough, you need to check all three of them.

  • Google Scholar will be the least accurate, because it includes many non-peer-reviewed items such as class lecture notes

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WEB OF SCIENCE

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SCOPUS

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
GOOGLE SCHOLAR

 

 

The guide to Citing Sources includes information on specific citation styles and more.

  • Remember that online sources require more information, such as date accessed
  • Always err on the side of too much information rather than not enough

RefWorks is the bibliographic citation manager that is supported by JHU.

When you need information about a topic, please feel free to send a note: