Visual Resources Collection
Getting Started with Artstor and the JHU Visual Resources Collection
JHU's Public Collections in Artstor
In addition to the VRC's institutional collection in Artstor, the JHU Visual Resources Collection (185,000+ images) and the JHU Sheridan Libraries, Special Collections, there are also several JHU collections available through Artstor's Public Collections.
JHU Collections in the Artstor Digital Library
JHU currently has two Institutional Collections available in Artstor:
First, the JHU Visual Resources Collection in Artstor is the VRC's local digital image collection and is constantly growing with over 185,000 digital images. This resource is accessible to JHU faculty, students, and staff and reflects the teaching and research interests of Hopkins faculty in departments and programs such as History of Art, Classics, Comparative Thought and Literature, German and Romance Languages and Literatures, History, History of Science and Technology, Museums and Society, Near Eastern Studies, Visual Arts, and Writing Seminars. With material covering the entire history of art, the JHU Visual Resources Collection’s strengths include ancient art, medieval art, Renaissance art, manuscripts and printed books, 19th and 20th century art, and contemporary Asian art.
Second, the VRC is pleased to announce its partnership with Special Collections to bring Special Collections course content to Artstor via a brand new Institutional Collection in Artstor: JHU Sheridan Libraries, Special Collections.
Having the VRC's images and select Special Collections images in Artstor has many advantages:
Found a cataloging mistake? Please contact the VRC to report cataloging errors or other problems you encounter. We really appreciate your help in keeping the data accurate!
All images in Artstor are tagged to indicate their collection type. Images in the local JHU collections are labeled "Institutional."
Navigating JHU Institutional Collections in Artstor
Need help accessing or using the JHU Visual Resources Collection or the JHU Sheridan Libraries, Special Collections in Artstor? Contact the VRC with any questions or problems, or if you would like a one-on-one training session or a group training session.
Note: Please remember that in order to download any images you will need to register for a free account if you do not already have one.
Links to the JHU Visual Resources Collection and the JHU Sheridan Libraries, Special Collections in Artstor appear at the bottom right of the Welcome page.
JHU Image Collections in JSTOR
As of Fall 2020, courtesy of a new Ithaka initiative, the JHU image collections that are currently available via Artstor are now also available in JSTOR. This initiative increases collection discoverability and paves the way for future improvements coming to JSTOR—there are plans to integrate more image viewing tools, to improve image searches, and to link images with related textual sources.
Visit all of the JHU collections in JSTOR:
- JHU Visual Resources Collection
- Johns Hopkins Archaeological Museum
- Johns Hopkins University: Chinese Public Health Campaign Slides 1950s-1970s
- JHU Sheridan Libraries, Special Collections
- Johns Hopkins University: Papyri Collection, from Oxyrhynchus and Fayum
- Johns Hopkins University: Aranow Collection: 1981 Tour of China
New images will be added to both Artstor and JSTOR.
Courses and Projects using Artstor at JHU
The VRC collaborated with Spring 2020's Classics Research Lab the Antioch Recovery Project (ARP) to add more than 500 new images of Antioch mosaics to Artstor for the students and investigators working on the project. The VRC used Image Groups in Artstor to create this group of 849 images. One of the student investigators was then able to create image groups for each house. Read more about organizing the image by house on the ARP blog.