Mathematics and Statistics
Search for Journal Articles
MathSciNet is the best database to start your search.
- The world's mathematical literature from 1940 to the present
- Contains almost 3 million items, and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles
- Authors are uniquely identified (by their MR Author ID)
- Translation information is listed --"For foreign-language journals for which there is a cover-to-cover translation, the information about the translation is added as soon as the translation journal issue becomes available. (This may be after the MathSciNet entry is published, or after its review is published.)
Example: translation in Comput. Math. Math. Phys. 41 (2001), no. 1, 151--160
Here are tutorials to help you do the best search possible.
Here is the list of journals -- by abbreviation -- that are indexed in MathSciNet (PDF)
Here are most of the journals' years of coverage (PDF) -- If you can't find an article, check this list to see whether or not the journal was indexed during that year
How do AND, OR, NOT ("Boolean operators) work on the search page?
The order does give different results, as shown in this example, when you put a word in the TITLE, in the first three rows of the search page.
Search #1: 24,952 results
Search #2: 54,927 results
Other databases with mathematical content are listed on the library home page under Databases by TOPIC:
- Library home page --> Databases by TOPIC -->Mathematics and Statistics
To find the library's databases, use Databases by NAME, or Databases by TOPIC, on the library home page:
- In the "Databases by TOPIC" lists, start with the CORE databases, which are the best for that topic
- To see what the database covers, click the little round "i" button next to its name: