Mathematics and Statistics
Search for Journal Articles
MathSciNet is the best database to use to start your search.
- The world's mathematical literature from 1940 to the present
- Translation information is listed --"For foreign-language journals for which there is a cover-to-cover translation, the information about the translation is added as soon as the translation journal issue becomes available. (This may be after the MathSciNet entry is published, or after its review is published.)
Example: translation in Comput. Math. Math. Phys. 41 (2001), no. 1, 151--160
On the results list, use "More Links" to get to the full text; "More Links" is really FIND IT @JHU.
- Tutorials to help you do the best search possible
- List of journals -- by abbreviation -- that are indexed in MathSciNet (PDF)
- Most of the journals' years of coverage (PDF) -- If you can't find an article, check this list to see whether or not the journal was indexed during that year
- Definitions for "reviewed," "indexed," and other tags
- Difference between "publications" and "related publications" in the author profiles
MSC (Mathematics Subject Classifications)
- Here is the most recent (2010) MSC
- Use these codes in your searches to find information about only your chosen area; for example, algebraic topology (55)
- The tab for "How to Use the MSC" is one big paragraph, but be patient and read it, because there's more to the MSC than just that main number
NOTE: arxiv.org, the well-known preprint server, allows you to put MSC numbers into your profile. This will help you receive papers in your areas of interest.
How do AND, OR, NOT ("Boolean operators) work on the search page?
The order does give different results, as shown in this example, when you put a word in the TITLE, in the first three rows of the search page.
Search #1: 24,952 results
Search #2: 54,927 results
Finding Databases about Other Subjects
1. Library home page --> Articles and Databases --> DATABASES
2. Click "Browse all databases"
3. Choose a subject to see the databases with information about it.
4. In each list, start with the databases under CORE -- they are the best and most relevant
- For a description about what's in the database, click "More Info" next to the database name
You can trace lines of research through articles.
When you find a good article about a topic, you can also see what later articles cited that first one, because those later articles were possibly working on the same topic
MathSciNet includes this feature. Articles that have been cited by others will have links to the citing articles:
For articles in other fields, there are three GENERAL databases that show who has cited an article:
- Web of Science
- Google Scholar
Unfortunately, they all provide different numbers of results. To be thorough, you need to check all three of them.
- Google Scholar will be the least accurate, because it includes many non-peer-reviewed items such as class lecture notes and preprints
WEB OF SCIENCE