Tools & Techniques for Archival Research
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Tools & Techniques for Archival Research
- Locating Archival Collections
Understanding Archival Organization
What are Special Collections?
Special Collections houses an incredible collection of rare books and historic documents, as well as materials pertaining to the history of Johns Hopkins University. Our main Special Collections Reading Room is located on M-level of the Brody Learning Commons; we also offer limited researcher services at the George Peabody Library and the John Work Garrett Library. Whether for research, personal interest, or instruction, we are happy to make our materials available for your use.
To request materials from MSEL Special Collections, you need to utilize a system called Aeon, widely used by Special Collections departments. As a JHU affiliate, you will sign in using your JHED ID.
-
Rare books, manuscripts, and archives collections are stored in several different locations and are not available for public browsing. Our collections are searchable in Catalyst. Finding aids for archives and manuscript collections can be searched in ArchivesSpace.
We can meet most requests within 2 business days. Please contact us if you have questions about finding materials for your research or if you encounter difficulties with the Aeon system.
Locate Archival Collections
Locating U.S. Collections
- WorldCatWorldCat FirstSearch is a valuable tool for locating archival materials in addition to other materials. Use an advanced search method to limit to archival materials or to the manuscript format.
- SNACcooperativeSNAC is demonstrating the feasibility of separating the description of persons, families, and organizations—including their socio-historical contexts—from the description of the historical resources that are the primary evidence of their lives and work. A key objective is to provide researchers with convenient, integrated access to historical collections held by multiple private and public archives and libraries around the world while also setting the stage for a cooperative program for maintaining information about the people documented in the collections.
- ArchiveGridArchiveGrid is a collection of nearly two million archival material descriptions, including MARC records from WorldCat and finding aids harvested from the web. Includes a searchable database for catalog records for archival collections and items, and full-text guides to specific collections.
- Archive FinderArchive Finder is a current directory of over 5,750 repositories and over 206,000 collections of primary source material housed across the United States and the United Kingdom. Designed as a research tool, Archive Finder is a central collection of archival information providing descriptions of primary sources held in various kinds of repositories.
- National Union Catalog of Manuscript CollectionsSponsored by the Library of Congress, the NUCMC describes archival and manuscripts collections held by repositories in the United States and its territories
- National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) Archival Research CatalogThis database searches the archival collections held by the United States National Archives and Records Administration.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaDiscover 49,602,373 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States