A library research guide for identifying resources for the history of Africa.
Primary Source databases
- Colonial Africa in Official StatisticsThese statistics cover the history of thirteen colonies across Africa. The date range of statistics for each colony depends on who ran it at the time. Most colonial statistics cover that colony's funds, its population and the names of its officers. Trade and public services data is also included. The statistics for Africa told the Colonial Office how the British Empire was performing as a business. A British Online Archives database.
- African Studies CollectionA project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison to digitize materials about Africa that were published in limited, sometimes very limited, quantities, but which have produced a demand beyond the capacity of their initial print run to satisfy. Selected by librarians, scholars, and other subject specialists along a wide range of criteria, this collection includes published materials as well as archival documents. The items were digitized from a variety of formats including books, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs, maps, and other resources.
- Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966Spanning the full era of the modern European colonisation of Africa, from the occupation of Algeria by France, through increasing British presence on the west African coast and around the Cape of Good Hope in the south, the Berlin Conference which set off the ‘Scramble for Africa’, the high-water mark of economic exploitation of Africans in the Congo Free State, rivalries amongst European powers and the era of withdrawal that followed the Second World War, Confidential Print: Africa is a fundamental resource for academics, students and researchers studying modern Africa and its recent history.
- South African in records from colonial missionaries, 1819-1900This collection from the Archives of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, dates from their earliest connection with South Africa. As the USPG is a church society, their records are arranged by dioceses, as this is the administrative and geographical unit with which they dealt. A British Online Archives database.
- Apartheid South Africa 1948-1980Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. These previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events give unprecedented access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation.
- Empire OnlineThis resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries.
- Making of the Modern World, 1450-1945Invaluable for an understanding of the competition for empire and the projection of European power from 1500 to the early twentieth century. Explore the historical underpinnings integral to the study of economics and European imperialism.
- Europe and Africa, Colonialism and CultureSo many research topics emerged from the colonial conquest and the legacy of slavery in modern South African society—the Anglo-Boer War, imperial policy, and race classification among them—that this volatile corner of nineteenth-century history draws enduring interest from scholars and students. To support their research, Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy
- Archives Unbound: African StudiesEvangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
Egypt: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1853-1962
King and People in Morocco, 1950-1959: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Morocco
Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
Libya: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1796-1885
Morocco: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1797-1929