Medicine, Science and the Humanities
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Medicine, Science and the Humanities
- Historical Medical Images
Strategies and information for interdisciplinary research in medicine, science and the humanities.
More Images
Non-Medical Specific Image Databases
- ARTstorExtensive collection of digital images in the humanities and social sciences.
- World ImagesThe California State University IMAGE Project's database of images in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from all over the globe.
Best Bets for Medical Images
- Images from the History of MedicineImages illuminating the social and historical aspects of Medicine from the National Library of Medicine.
- Gray's Anatomy OnlineAn online version of the 1918 edition, including over 1,200 illustrations.
Tips:
- Keep an eye out for images in article databases - some articles will have images to accompany the text.
- Look in historical newspapers for advertisements that contain images. Companies selling remedies for diseases may have included sketches and images to help sell their products.
More Medical Image Resources
- The Osler Library Prints CollectionRanging from the seventeenth to the twentieth century, the collection consists predominantly of prints, though it also includes some photographs, drawings, posters, and cartoons. Medical professionals throughout history are represented largely through portraiture, as well as through caricatures and scenes.
- National Library of Medicine Turning the PagesDigitized images of rare and beautiful historic books in the biomedical sciences.
- NYC Department of Records Department of Public Charities/HospitalsImages from ca. 1890-1960. Buildings, patients, and staff in hospitals and health-related facilities throughout the city.
- Historical Medical Library of The College of Physicians of PhiladelphiaSearchable image database and exhibition platform with nearly 1,000 images drawn from the Historical Medical Library collection, with strengths in the history of anatomy and botanical medicine. Highlights include images from rare incunabula previously unavailable online and unusual selections from more popular early modern anatomists.