The Sheridan Libraries

Key Resources for International Relations (SAIS)

Start your research with this multi-subject guide to recommended resources

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
Source for respected country analysis reports, data, and industry information. Click on "Geography" to search by country.
BMI (formerly FitchConnect) This link opens in a new window
Search across 200 countries for country risk, defense, energy and other industry reports.
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Search for publications and data from the International Monetary Fund.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly bibliographies covering a wide range of subjects and types of sources, from books to document collections. Countries or regions often have a bibliography. Use the search box upper right for keyword searching.
Political Handbook of the World
Useful for historical context. Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties.
Statesman's Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Covers 1864 - present
Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
Statistical abstracts are issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere.

Country Commercial Guides
Includes market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.

World Constitutions Illustrated This link opens in a new window
Includes both historic and current constitutions of governments worldwide

See the Library's Area Studies guides for specific regional and country resources