Art History
Explore research tools in the field of art history
Librarian for Art History
At Hopkins
Find books, journals, films, and more
Background Information
Background InformationUse the databases below to find definitions and other basic information about your topic; for a more comprehensive list, consult Research Tools: Background Information
- Oxford Art OnlineStart here for background information on artists, artistic media, and art movements. This tool comprises these important reference works: Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Art HistoryAuthoritative high-level encyclopedia with useful annotated bibliography.
- Encyclopedia Britannica OnlineFind basic information and clarify terms in any field of study.
- WikipediaUse cautiously for quick information - but verify in scholarly resources if used for research.
Search for Articles
Search for ArticlesUse the databases below as a starting point to identify scholarly journal articles on your topic; for a more comprehensive list, consult Research Tools: Journal Articles.
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, full text database that indexes academic journals in nearly every academic field of study.
- Art Full TextCovering journals published from 1985 to the present, look here for citations and some full text of scholarly and popular journals in the field; for older articles from these journals, search Art Index Retrospective below.
- Art Index RetrospectiveCovering journals published from 1929 to 1984, look here for citations and some full text of scholarly and popular journals in the field.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA)Look here for scholarly articles published from 2008 to the present; for older materials in the same sources, use BHA below.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)Preceding IBA, above, use this index for scholarly articles published between 1975 and 2007.
- JSTORSearch this archive of full-text scholarly journals spanning a number of disciplines.
Featured Resource
JHU Digital Collections on JSTORThese collections include selections from the Sheridan Libraries and Museums and the Johns Hopkins Archaeological Museum, in association with the Visual Resources Collection in the Department of the History of Art in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences.
Google Custom
Search art museum websites in U.S., Canada, and many European countries