Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

Baltimore: Research Resources 

The list highlights selected secondary and primary resources for those wishing to research topics related to Baltimore. It does not represent all resources available in the city.
Last update: Jun 15th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/baltimore  Print Guide  RSS Updates

City Archives             Print Page
  
 

What is the Archives + How is it Organized?

During the 1930s, the WPA funded a project to index the Baltimore City Archives and produced two finding aids: a card file and a typescript inventory of records.  Both of these have been microfilmed, scanned and put online by the Maryland State Archives (MSA).

The typescript inventory is organized chronologically. It is given the MSA collection number CE 40 and has been put online

In the 1980s the Archives was reorganized into Record Groups, and William LeFurgy published a guide describing  the Archives by Record Group.

There is a guide translating WPA numbers to the new Record Group number system.

Many of the record groups were microfilmed and security copies deposited at the Maryland State Archives.  It is part of the Special Collections MSA SC 5636. A listing of the microfilm reels is on-line.

There is a separate guide to the records of the Mayor and City Council prepared by in 1981.

 

Where is the Baltimore City Archives?

The Baltimore City Archives is located at 2615 Mathews Street, Baltimore, MD 21218. This is just east of Greenmount Avenue, south of 28th Street.  It is open by appointment.  Contact Rebecca Gunby, City Archivist and Records Manager at 410-396-3884.

Some of the Baltimore City archival records are on deposit at the Maryland State Archives in Annapolis.  They are in the Special Collections section of the MSA and given the collection number MSA SC 5511. A list of the City records in the collection is available on-line.

Access to the records at the MSA is by appointment.  The archives has also created a website on Baltimore City history.

 
 

Official Seal

 

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait