Baltimore
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Baltimore
- Newspapers
Baltimore Sun
 |
Founded by 1837 by Arunah Shepherdson Abell in 1837, the Sun remains Baltimore's newspaper of record. The most complete index to the Sun is held in the Maryland Department at the Enoch Pratt Free Library. --- For a history of the Sun, see Harold A. Williams. 1987. The Baltimore Sun, 1837-1987. Baltimore, MD: JHU Press.
|
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The JHU Libraries have the following years of the Baltimore Sun and a few related publications:
Baltimore Sun ONLINE
- Read daily issues from 2004 to today through PressReader. The Sunday edition is also available through PressReader here.
- Read and search archival holdings from 1990 to the present through ProQuest.
- Read and search archival holdings from 1837 to 1994 through ProQuest.
- Click here for additional ways to read the Baltimore Sun online.
Baltimore Sun IN PRINT
- July 21, 1838 (vol. 3, no. 56) - September 2, 1848 (vol. 23, No. 84) (scroll down)
- Approximately the latest 3 months
Baltimore Sun Blogs
Baltimore Daily Gazette
The Baltimore Banner
- The Baltimore BannerThe Baltimore Banner is an online news site focused on news about Baltimore and the surrounding counties. First-time users must register with for a free personal account, using your Hopkins email address in the jhed@jh.edu format.
Baltimore Newspapers
Founded in 1892 by John Henry Murphy, the Baltimore Afro-American is the flagship of the Afro-American newspaper chain.
The JHU Magazine published an article about the archiving project in November 2011.
Here is more history about the Baltimore Afro-American.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-
Afro-American (1893-1988),and the Afro-American Ledger, which was the merger between the Afro-American and the Ledger
-- Here are the catalog records for all years and formats of these 3 newspapers -
Ethnic NewsWatch-- Includes the searchable full text of the Baltimore Afro-American and the Baltimore Jewish Times
-- 1992+
Founded by David Alter in 1919, the Baltimore Jewish Times is Baltimore's oldest Jewish publication.
- Available online to the present through several links; earliest date March 7, 1997
- Latest two months in print
The Baltimore Business Journal, published since 1983, documents developments in Baltimore's business community.
-
Baltimore City PaperSince 1977, an alternative source of news and opinions on local politics, communities, culture, and the arts. Published every week. Accessible 1997- online. Enoch Pratt Free Library Central Branch has the paper in microfilm back to 1979. No index.
-
Baltimore GuideBegan in 1927 as a shoppers guide, it serves Southeast and South Baltimore. There has been an online edition since 1997. JHU has access to issues from 2005 to 2016 through NewsBank. Enoch Pratt Free Library has microfilm copy of the paper from 2/14/1929-2/8/40,1/10/1957-12/25/69, 1/8/98-12/28/2000. No index.
Other Baltimore-related newspapers and news sources available through the JHU libraries can be found in the catalog.
- Here are the results under the subject heading "Baltimore (Md.)--Newspapers"
- JHU's institutional subscription to newspapers.com records other historical newspapers from Baltimore under "Browse" --> "Maryland" --> "Baltimore"
Special Collections
-
Guide to Maryland NewspapersHosted by the Maryland State Archives, the Guide to Maryland Newspapers is an excellent source for finding the print history of Maryland newspapers. You can view lists by title or county.
-
Maryland State Archives350 Rowe Boulevard
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: (800) 235-4045 or 410-260-6400
Fax: 410-974-3895
archives@mdarchives.state.md.us
- A digital collection, hosted by University of Maryland
Baltimore News American Photograph Collection
- The University of Maryland Libraries has custody of the newspaper's collection of over 1.5 million photographic images, dating approximately from 1906 to 1986.