How do I connect from off-campus? Window
This is the "Home" page of the "Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Law  

Online and print resources for the study of law.
Last Updated: Dec 21, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/law Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured Reference

Black's Law Dictionary is available in print format in the GPML Reference Section.

Cover Art
Black's Law Dictionary - Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: KF156.B53 2009
ISBN: 9780314199492

 
 

Introduction

This pupose of this guide is to assist you with locating legal statutues, regulations, cases and secondary materials (encyclopedias, law reviews, dictionaries, etc.).  Use the blue-tabbed navigation scheme above to navigate to the different portions of this guide.

The Library's law collection is extensive, focusing on U.S. and Maryland statutes, cases, and regulations. The collection includes access to over 500 print and electronic law reviews and legal periodicals. 

We collect legal encyclopedias and law related monographs or books. These books can be found in the electronic Johns Hopkins University Libraries CatalogMany of the well known legal sources are available electronically. Through this page we provide access to several internet based sources and databases.

 

Cases and Law Reviews

COURT OPINIONS/ACTUAL CASES: Use LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis Legal is part of LexisNexis Academic) or Campus Research:Law (formerly Westlaw). 

Your search will be the most precise if you search for a particular case by citation - e.g. 517 U.S. 308. With the title of the case, or the party names, you will also get to your results quicker, but may see more than one result (original case, appeals, remanded decisions)  E.g. Roe V. Wade.

LAW REVIEWS: You have a few options:

    1. Use LexisNexis Academic. You will need to choose U.S. Legal from the left menu.  Select Law Reviews.  Take advantage of the search limiters if you are aware of the field of law in which you want to search E.g. Tax Law. 

    1. Use Campus Research:Law (formerly Westlaw).  Mark (checkbox) Journal and Law Reviews under the Select Databases section.

    1. Use Legal Periodicals Full Text.  International coverage as well as U.S.  Access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books and book reviews.
 

Need Help?

Depository Library Eagle

 

Government Information
Milton S. Eisenhower Library
A-Level
410-516-8360

Librarians
Lynne Stuart
Email: lstuart@jhu.edu

Jennifer Darragh
Email: jendarragh@jhu.edu

 

Original Court Documents

We are not able to provide access to scans of original court documents or case transcripts through Campus Research:Law.  Only the full Westlaw product (which we do not subscribe to) has this information.

If you need a transcript or wish to view the original documentation, you will need to contact the court in question (look for Clerk of Court contact information).

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2010 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip