Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Philosophy 

A research guide covering resources and research tools in Philosophy
Last update: Aug 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/philosophy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Featured Resources

  • Blackwell's Philosophy Compass
    This resource provides an ideal starting point for the novice, offering pointers for researchers, teachers and students alike, to help them find and interpret the best research in the field.
  • Past Masters
    Definitive editions of the writings of many important figures in philosophy; Past Masters comprises the largest collection of full-text electronic editions in the world.
  • Oxford Scholarship Online
    Oxford University Press is the world's leading philosophy publisher, publishing outstanding original work across all areas of contemporary philosophy and the history of philosophy. OSO makes available many of their most important titles in digital format.
 

Google Books

Search inside books made available on the Internet; view or preview them online, then check to see if our library owns or has access to them. 

Google Book Search
 

Featured Book

 

Search the JHU Libraries Catalog

Find books, films, and more in the libraries by searching below:

Search the Core Philosophy Resources

Find articles, book chapters, and other scholarly materials by searching below:

 

Background Info

The resources below are good sources of basic information and bibliography on topics in the field.

   Philosophy of Science Reference Works:

 

       Wikipedia -
       VERIFY all information in reliable resources

Oxford Reference Online -
Extensive collection of reference works; note the Religion & Philosophy section.

 

 

Featured Web Site

PhilPapers, a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers.

 

Editorial staff monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages; they also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies.

Some features require that you sign in; creating an account is free of charge.

Find Books in Other libraries

Google Scholar

This feature of Google searches across many scholarly Internet sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Google Scholar is especially useful for tracking down or verifying difficult or partial citations.


(search results open in a new window)
 

Librarian

Profile ImageDonald Juedes
Contact Info:
M Level, MSE Library
(410) 516-0605
Send Email

Subjects:
Art History, Classics, Near Eastern Studies, Philosophy

 

At Hopkins

Philosophy Department

Link to the Hopkins academic department's web page.

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait