Philosophy
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Philosophy
- Evil in Philosophy, Literature, & Film
Research Focus: Goethe's Faust
- Goethe's Faust: The Theatre of ModernityThe chapters focus on the virtuality of Faust, the music drama, the modernization of evil, Faust's blindness, the gay Mephistopheles, classic beauty and horror as phantasmagoria, and Goethe's anticipation of modern science, economics and ecology.
- Music in Goethe's FaustThis book explores the musical origins of Goethe's Faust and the musical dimensions of its legacy.
- Faust (Film)Streaming film of F.W. Murnau's silent movie adaptation of Goethe's Faust (1926)
- Gounod's Faust (2019 Operatic Performance)This production of Gounod's Faust by Bruno Ravella--a revival of David McVicar's from 2004--won over the public with its gorgeous sets, costumes, and lighting design that combine to create an immersive experience of the eponymous legend and the famous play by Goeth
Evil in Special Collections
Books on the Philosophy of Evil
You can find books (both in print and online) on the philosophy and history of evil by searching the library's catalog. Here are a selection of recent books on the topic:
- Cambridge Companion to the Problem of EvilProvides accessible essays by leading scholars on the problem of evil from various angles.
- Evil: A HistoryThirteen reflections contextualize the philosophical developments by looking at evil through the eyes of animals, poets, mystics, witches, librettists, film directors and tech executives.
- Routledge Handbook to the Philosophy of Evil27 chapters cover the crucial discussions and arguments, both historical and contemporary, that are needed to properly understand the historical development and complexity of the concept of evil.
Finding Scholarly Articles
You have access to lots of databases containing peer-reviewed and scholarly articles. The databases also provide citation information and helpful keywords and subject terms. Plus, you can do more nuanced searching than through Google Scholar. Here are a selection of databases that could prove useful for your research:
- Philosopher's IndexContains full-text access to a wide-range of scholarly philosophy journals.
- MLA International BibliographyGreat starting point to find interdisciplinary articles in the Humanities.
- Film & Television IndexGood starting point for finding both scholarly and trade articles on film and television productions.
- Performing Arts IndexContains reviews and articles from scholarly and trade publications on all aspects of the performing arts.
Making the Most out of Google Scholar
Google Scholar is easy to use and you will discover some great stuff searching it, but you may not always find full-text options or you could be taken to pre-prints instead of to versions of the "real" published article. To maximize the power of Google Scholar, make sure you connect it to JHU Libraries.