The Sheridan Libraries

American Foreign Policy (SAIS)

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions (also in print: JX 233 .A3). For detailed information on FRUS, see the the US Govt Sources page in this guide (tab for Dept of State)

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Multiple document collections covering a broad range of topics, including World War II and 20th century political history.
Making of the Modern World, 1450-1914 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources that track the development of the modern western world through the lens of trade and wealth.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
Consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies and the Revolutionary War.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Digital resources from the collection of the Gilder Lehrman Collection.
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Contains a wealth of archival materials covering politics, military and the U.S. civil rights struggle.

Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961 This link opens in a new window
Consists of the Confidential Print series for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America.

Documentary history of the Truman presidency
35 vol. set reproduces documents by subject areas.

Nixon Years, 1969-1974 This link opens in a new window
British government observations and reports concerning the entire period of Richard Nixon’s presidency.
Founders Early Access This link opens in a new window
When complete, this database will include papers of Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison and Alexander Hamilton.

Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
The War Department was responsible for internal security, governance, and diplomacy as well as military affairs in the newly established United States of America.

NARA: U. S. National Archives and Records Administration
Click on "Research Our Records" to learn more about the holdings of the National Archives and how to access them.

Archive Grid This link opens in a new window
A database for locating special collections worldwide. Search for family and corporate histories, personal papers, and historical records.
Archive Finder This link opens in a new window
A current directory describing over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the US, UK, and Ireland. Part of the C19 database.
Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world, including many full-text transcripts, audio, and video.

For more digitized primary sources, see the Primary Sources for International Relations guide.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1950-1996 This link opens in a new window
English translations of radio and tv broadcasts and news articles worldwide. A valuable source for primary research. Articles from 1974-1996 are included.
World News Connection: 1995-2013 This link opens in a new window
Continuation of FBIS Daily Reports. Ceased publication Dec 31, 2013.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search New York Times, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, Wall St. Journal, The Guardian UK, and more, back to the 19th century.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690 -1922) This link opens in a new window
Covering 1690 - 1922, this database present full PDF images of the papers. Includes newspapers of the United States and the Caribbean.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple primary document databases at one time, including Gale's historical newspaper collections.