The Sheridan Libraries

U.S. Government Information

Catalog of Government Publication
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the search tool for print and electronic titles of the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. In this resource you will find bibliographic information about publications and links to digital publications when available. Scope: All publications, print and electronic, distributed by the Government Publishing Office from 1976 - present and selective coverage for historic government publications dating to the late 1800s - 1976. Update daily.
Executive Branch Documents (1789 - 1952) & Presidential Materials (1789 - present)
These exceptional full-text collections are subsets of our subscription to the ProQuest Congressional database. Once in ProQuest Congressional, selected the Advanced search option and then choose from the subset collections, left side of window, to search.
HathiTrust U.S. Federal Documents
This is a collection of U.S. government publications that HathiTrust has identified in its member libraries. A good source for historical documents not found elsewhere.
Catalyst -- the JHU Library Catalog
Includes bibliographic records for all JHU's print government publication along with records and links to all the electronic titles distributed by the Government Publishing Office.

GovInfo.gov
For most users the Catalog of Government Publications (CGP), with it's historical cataloging, will be a better place to start searching. However, Govinfo.gov includes some options for bulk download of government journals/serials. All of the publications found in Govinfo.gov are included in the (CGP).
Washington Information Directory
WID pulls together contact information for federal agencies and Congress including congressional caucuses and committees. Includes organizational charts.
A - Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies

Subjects: Government Information, Law, Political Science