The Sheridan Libraries

African Policy Studies (SAIS)

Africa Confidential
Digest of news on Africa. Online access is limited to 2 concurrent users.
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1906-2019 (Johannesburg, South Africa)
Weekly South African newspaper

Daily Observer Digital Archive
Liberia's best-known independent, national newspaper.
AllAfrica.com
Current news from Africa. Articles older than one year require a subscription, or can be viewed via LexisNexis, Access World News or Proquest Newstand.
Africa Research Bulletin: Economic, financial, and technical series
News summaries from African newspapers, local news agencies, radio broadcasts, and websites.
Africa Research Bulletin: Political, social, and cultural series
News summaries from African newspapers, local news agencies, radio broadcasts, and websites.

African Newspapers, 1800-1922 (Readex)
More than 40 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Note: First-time access requires creation of an individual account using your JHU email. After setup, you can login directly at economist.com, using Log in with SSO.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Coverage of foreign news media
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text US news, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Proquest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Fulltext news outside of the US and Canada, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and BBC.
PressReader.com This link opens in a new window
Full image, includes tabloids and magazines. Arranged by country, latest 60 days only.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text world-wide news source.

BBC Monitoring: International Reports
Provides news and information based on round-the-clock monitoring of radio, TV, press, internet and news agency sources around the world. Reports are translated into English from more than 100 languages. Included in Nexis UNI. Coverage: 2001-current.

Access the News guide for more historical news sources.